Tonylaudat
New Member
I was just wondering what would happen to a stolen monster (via Snatch Steal) if someone played Giant Trunade removing Snatch Steal from the field?
I don't see it that way. Since it is an Equip Card then I see it's effect as a 'binding' effect that holds the card to the field as long as it's equiped. When it becomes unequipped then it can no longer bind themonster to that side of the field. I don't think targeting is really an issue other than the continuous targeting that all equip cards perform. Flipping th equipped monster face-down however just gives the monster no place to go.daivahataka said:But the point is that at the time it leaves the field it can still see which monster was it's target and as such the monster is returned.
Whether the monster is face up or face down has no impact on returning it normally, e.g. BoM on a monster you've taken with Change of Heart doesn't stop it returning. The reason that Snatch Steal doesn't return it when BoM flips the monster face down is that it can no longer determine the monster to which it was equipped and so which monster should be returned (easier to understand if you imagine multiple face down monsters on the field).Digital Jedi said:I don't see it that way. Since it is an Equip Card then I see it's effect as a 'binding' effect that holds the card to the field as long as it's equiped. When it becomes unequipped then it can no longer bind themonster to that side of the field. I don't think targeting is really an issue other than the continuous targeting that all equip cards perform. Flipping th equipped monster face-down however just gives the monster no place to go.
If you remove a monster from play that was under the effect of Snatch Steal, when it returns, it will go to the side of the field it was on when it was under the control of Snatch Steal, then revert back to the owner/controller (the person who "legally" takes him home after the Match), since it is no longer under the control of a card that changes control of a monster to another player.squid said:would the same hold for effects that remove a monster from play and return them?
Im thinking of if Dimensionhole or Interdimensional Matter Transporter were used on a monster under the influence of Snatch Steal.
When the monster returns, will it stay on the side of the field of the player who activated Snatch Steal? (assuming its the same player who played IMT/Dimensionhole/DD Gate/etc.)
Change of Heart places a condition on the monster that requires it to return at the end of the turn. Aside from that, it is a Normal Spell Card. The general application for Equip Cards doesn't apply here.daivahataka said:Whether the monster is face up or face down has no impact on returning it normally, e.g. BoM on a monster you've taken with Change of Heart doesn't stop it returning. The reason that Snatch Steal doesn't return it when BoM flips the monster face down is that it can no longer determine the monster to which it was equipped and so which monster should be returned (easier to understand if you imagine multiple face down monsters on the field).
I was merely pointing out that your arguement/point thatDigital Jedi said:Change of Heart places a condition on the monster that requires it to return at the end of the turn. Aside from that, it is a Normal Spell Card. The general application for Equip Cards doesn't apply here.
Change of Heart and Mind Control should never be used to explain a function of Snatch Steal. They are not equips and the basic function behind them is completley different.
has nothing to do with it, a monster which is due to be returned is still returned regardless of whether it's face up or face down. The reason Snatch Steal won't return the monster is that it no longer knows which monster it's supposed to be returning since the monster is now face down, and as such effectively invisible to it.Flipping th equipped monster face-down however just gives the monster no place to go.
The monster wouldn't return if the effect didn't specificaly say so. Does Creature Swap's effect linger around the field until the monster leave the field? No. But the monsters stay where they are anyway. With your way of thinking Creature Swaps effect would have to be the lingering condition hanging around the field until the monsters leave it, and that just isn't the case.Tonylaudat said:I still don't get how Change of Heart/Mind Control put a condition on the monster requiring it to return. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but don't most (if not all) other cards that have the phrase on it "Until end of Turn" simply expire at the end of the turn in which it was played? Why would Change of Heart/Mind Control be any different?
Leaving th field is completly different. There is no way to control another person's monster outside of the field. Sure some effects do place your card in your opponent's deck, but those are unique effects and are very clear as to how they work. But control changers, so far, only affect the field. Not the Graveyard or the RFG area. This is true of any effect that doesn't designate the Graveyard or the RFG area in its text.I was aslo wondering, since the only way that a monster can be on you opponent's side of the field is through a card effect (either another card's effect or its own), then why does flipping a stolen monster face down affect this general rule? Since monsters do not always need effects to return to their original controler, then why doesn't a Stolen monster once flipped face down simply return to its original controler since Snatch Steal is no longer affecting it in any way? If flipping the monster face down means that Snatch Steal is no longer a determining factor in who gets control of the monster, then why doesn't the monster simply return to the player who it was stolen from since there is no effect telling it to remain with the person who stole it in the first place?
I never said they didn't linger till the end of the turn. How else could I say that they are returned by the effect at the end unless they lingered? But your theory of the effect simply expiring in the End Phase and after the effect shuts off your monster goes back by default creates a problem.Tonylaudat said:Why can't Change of Heart/Mind Control simply time out, and the monster affected simply returns because there is no longer an effect to keep it on you opponets side of the field? The effect of Change of Heart/ Mind Control doesn't specificaly say that it returns the monster to you at the end phase of that turn, rather the effect says that you opponet gets to keep control of the targeted monster until then end phase of that turn. Change of Heart/Mind Control is a one shot deal (like any normal spell card) that simply has a duration. Also, if "some linger around the field until the end of the turn", then why can't this be the case with Change of Heart/ Mind Control?
Why can't Creature Swap create a lingering effect that keeps the monsters switched until they are destoried or removed from the field (since the general rule is that you need an effect to have an opponet's monster on your side of the field)?
Digital Jedi said "The control changer rulings all differ based on thier card type and duration, but they explain each other if you study thier respective rulings in context."
Is there a ruling somewhere that says that Change of Heart/Mind Control actually returns the targeted monster to your opponet at the end phase of the turn in which it was activated? I've looked on the rulings on this site, and www.yugioh-card.com, and I've yet to find anything on the subject of how control is returned to the original control.