Special summoning searchers

A

Ariel N

Guest
I ran into this in a tournament this weekend and was not sure how it should have gone so I was hoping some of you could help me.

PLAYER A has a face-up attack position "King Tiger Wanghu". PLAYER B has a face-down "Mystic Tomato". PLAYER A attacks with his "King Tiger Wanghu" and destroys PLAYER B's "Mystic Tomato". Now PLAYER B knowing that the new Special Summoned monster would be automatically destroyed by "King Tiger Wanghu" refuses to special summon a 1500 ATK or lower Dark monster.

Is this right?

I mean I know the card says you "MAY" but I was under the impression that if you had a monster that qualifies (meaning 1500 or lower ATK Dark monster) you HAVE to special summon it. I would think the "MAY" would only apply if you did not have any monsters that qualify.

Am I wrong?
 
Also consider cards that have Continuous Effect of boosting monsters' ATK, like Field Spell Cards and "Fairy King Truesdale". If the special summoned monster is affected by these cards and increased its ATK above 1400 ATK, then "King Tiger Wanghu" won't be able to destroy it.

Remember, Continuous Effect of increasing or decreasing ATK stat resolves first before "King Tiger Wanghu"'s Continuous Effect resolves. Time Stamp does not apply here. I don't know why Time Stamp does not apply, but it just doesn't.
 
As far as I know, most/all of the elemental/sub-type searchers are optional effects. But here's another Question...

Can King Tiger Wanghu use its effect to destroy a monster summoned by Mystic Tomato's effect in the first place? I'd say no. King Tiger's effect is a spell speed 2 multi-trigger effect (as confirmed on the Judge's List) and Mystic Tomato's effect activates and resolves in the damage step. I don't think King Tiger's effect can be activated in the damage step, so the monster summoned through Mystic Tomato's effect should be safe (much the same way it is safe from Torrential and Bottomless Trap Hole).
 
*As a side note this being a trigger effect would be an example of an error in the ARRJ, since the ARRJ says it's continuous, UDE have since decided that it's in fact a trigger effect...*
 
daivahataka said:
Well if not they should've corrected the person starting this thread on the Judge list:
http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=3728#3728

*As a side note this being a trigger effect would be an example of an error in the ARRJ, since the ARRJ says it's continuous, UDE have since decided that it's in fact a trigger effect...*

Hi ..
I have a Question about King tiger effect ..here the situation
Player A Have King Tiger Wanghu on the field ..
Player B has a face down card (Divine Wrath) and summon a tomato ..

=> the tomato is being destroy by king tiger effect but
1-can player B chain Divine Wrath to King Tiger effect to negates it effect ???
2-Is King tiger effect an continuous effect or a trigger effect ??

Thanks a lot
Jean-MArie P.



Answer:

1. - Yes.

2. - Trigger effect.

---------------------------------------
Curtis Schultz
Official UDE Netrepâ„¢
CurtisSchultz_netrep@Hotmail.com
No need to correct the Question or answer on that. The way I read it, they asked if the Tomato would be destroyed when normal summoned, not special summoned through another Tomato's effect. That post doesn't really relate to a summoning that occurs in the damage step, it just confirms that King Tiger's effect is indeed a trigger.
 
:eek: Sorry, your right, trying to do too many thing at once here and making a heims of it, I'll delete the above so it doesn't confuse anyone.
But either way, as a trigger effect which doesn't specifically say that it can activate in the damage step I don't think it can destroy monsters special summoned by effects during the damage step.
 
Huh?

jdos said:
As far as I know, most/all of the elemental/sub-type searchers are optional effects. But here's another Question...

Can King Tiger Wanghu use its effect to destroy a monster summoned by Mystic Tomato's effect in the first place? I'd say no. King Tiger's effect is a spell speed 2 multi-trigger effect (as confirmed on the Judge's List) and Mystic Tomato's effect activates and resolves in the damage step. I don't think King Tiger's effect can be activated in the damage step, so the monster summoned through Mystic Tomato's effect should be safe (much the same way it is safe from Torrential and Bottomless Trap Hole).
But some Muli-Triggers can be activated in Damage Step. Dark Paladin, Ryu Senshi, Sorcerer of Dark Magic can be activated in the Damage Step...or not?
:D I'm not 100% sure °_°'
 
King Tiger's effect IS a triggered effect, but think of it like this (and we'll answer Dimensional Warrior's Question at the same time):

Dark Paladin, Ryu Senshi, and Sorcerer of Dark Magic are all Spell Speed 2 effects, right? However, their effects can still be activated in the Damage Step because their effects can counter effects that happen in the Damage Step.

King Tiger's trigger effect can activate in the damage step to counter something that happens there.

(Hmm"¦ then again, Dark Paladin, Ryu Senshi, and Sorcerer of Dark Magic all negate Spells and Traps that affect the ATK and/or DEF of the monsters involved in battle"¦.now I'm confused too!)



Dark Ruler Ha Des
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
The effect of King Tiger Wanghu is a trigger effect, so at anytime a monster is Normal Summoned or Special Summoned with a valid ATK of 1400, King Tiger Wanghu will destroy that monster.

I have Question thought, since it is a triggered effect.

Does the effect of King Tiger Wanghu's effect when triggered get placed into a chain vs Marauding Captain. (The player who Normal Summons Marauding Captain has the intention to Special Summon Command Knight)

How would it look?
"¢ If "King Tiger Wanghu" is on the field and "Marauding Captain" is Summoned, "Marauding Captain" can still activate its effect and Special Summon a monster even though "Marauding Captain" is destroyed. -- From the FAQ.

Still not convinced on his effect triggering in the Damage Step. But I suppose it's not unheard of for Multi-triggers to be used there...although I think the rulings on Paladin and Horus are different in the OCG to where you can't use the effect in the damage step. I guess King Tiger could go wither way. I'll post it to the Judge's list when I get a sec.
 
jdos said:
"¢ If "King Tiger Wanghu" is on the field and "Marauding Captain" is Summoned, "Marauding Captain" can still activate its effect and Special Summon a monster even though "Marauding Captain" is destroyed. -- From the FAQ.

Still not convinced on his effect triggering in the Damage Step. But I suppose it's not unheard of for Multi-triggers to be used there...although I think the rulings on Paladin and Horus are different in the OCG to where you can't use the effect in the damage step. I guess King Tiger could go wither way. I'll post it to the Judge's list when I get a sec.

Spell Speed 1 Triggers are NOT excluded from the Damage Step. King Tiger's effect will Trigger and activate at any point in time while he is face-up. It does not Counter anything, it is simply a Summon Trigger.

Remember, D. D. Warrior Lady's effect is Spell Speed 1, so Don Zaloog's, both activated in the Damage Step.

StRiKe_NiNjA said:
Also, does the effect of King Tiger Wanghu target? Meaning I can activate Dramatic Rescue?
No, there is no choice whatsoever as to what monster is affected, it automatically triggers and destroys the summoned monster.

StRiKe_NiNjA said:
The effect of King Tiger Wanghu is a trigger effect, so at anytime a monster is Normal Summoned or Special Summoned with a valid ATK of 1400, King Tiger Wanghu will destroy that monster.

I have Question thought, since it is a triggered effect.

Does the effect of King Tiger Wanghu's effect when triggered get placed into a chain vs Marauding Captain. (The player who Normal Summons Marauding Captain has the intention to Special Summon Command Knight)

How would it look?
Like this...

~ TP Normal Summons Marauding Captain

{Response Chain}

*let assume that King Tiger is controlled by the opponent

[TP Chain Link 1] Marauding Captain
[OP Chain Link 2] King Tiger Wanghu

resolve...

King Tiger's effect destroys MC, and MC's effect Special Summons a monster from your hand.

In the end King Tiger's effect does not negate a summon, so all Summon Triggers, will still activate.
 
novastar said:
Spell Speed 1 Triggers are NOT excluded from the Damage Step. King Tiger's effect will Trigger and activate at any point in time while he is face-up. It does not Counter anything, it is simply a Summon Trigger.

Remember, D. D. Warrior Lady's effect is Spell Speed 1, so Don Zaloog's, both activated in the Damage Step.
I'm not disagreeing with you at all, but the timing of both DDWL and Don's effects specifically allow for them to activate in the damage step. It's the only time they can activate, so they are a little different. But I see what you're saying and you're most likely correct.
 
Okie then, perhaps a better example would be:
Peten the Dark Clown
its a spell speed-one tirgger effect, that does not state or imply that its activated in the damage step. But it still works when destroyed as a result of battle (in the damage step)

However i think King Tiger Wanchu has to wait until the damage step is over to start its new chain (one chain per damage sub-step). As the summoning was the resolution of the chain in the send to the graveyard step.
 
jdos said:
I'm not disagreeing with you at all, but the timing of both DDWL and Don's effects specifically allow for them to activate in the damage step. It's the only time they can activate, so they are a little different. But I see what you're saying and you're most likely correct.
All i am saying, is that King Tiger's effect is not excluded just because of Spell Speed or the type of effect it is. It will Trigger at any time during the turn, if the conditions are correct.

Honestly, this is a recent change, as King Tiger's effect was initially a Continuous Effect, and was later changed.
 
Back
Top