thousand eyes restrict

woltarr

New Member
if TER is place face down by book of moon

and them oponent declares a atack agaisnt him

since damage calculation occurs in damage step3

since continuous effcts occurs in damage step 2

may i assume that TER effct would start work and , as such would halt the atck?

thank you very much

woltarr
 
woltarr said:
i will have to disagree

in the damage step chart of kevin he clearly states that monster with continuous effcts face down and flipped face up by a atck would have this continuous effct start working in damage step 2

since damage calculation occurs in damage step 3

the atck would halt by TEr efct before enter in damage step 3

since damage was not calculated , TER will survive

and in the soul absorbing bone tower there is not mention to these , just to mention

i dont believe you guys cant see this

woltarr
No. You see once you've enetered the Damage Step it's the attack has already been considered to have gone through.
 
pssvr said:
That is not related to this discussion, and it is already one of TER's rulings.
-pssvr
WHAT is not related to this discussion? woltarr is keeping this 'discussion' back on track from what was ORIGINALLY asked in this thread, BEFORE John came in and mucked it all up!..;)
 
Digital Jedi said:
No. You see once you've enetered the Damage Step it's the attack has already been considered to have gone through.

Thousand-Eyes Restrict
Attrib: Dark
Type: Spellcaster/Fusion/Effect
Level:1
Atk: 0
Def: 0
"Relinquished" + "Thousand-Eyes Idol" As long as this card remains face-up on the field, other monsters cannot change their battle positions or attack. Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field and equip it to this card (this effect can only be used once per turn and you can only equip 1 monster at a time to this card). The ATK and DEF of this card become the same amounts as the monster equipped to this card. If this card is destroyed as a result of battle, the equipped monster is destroyed instead.

errr dude the efct clearly state "cannot atck" and not " cannot declare a atck"

the monster is still atcking in damage step 2

the atck goes trough when it causes damage

woltarr
 
CardsOfTheHeart said:
*hits himself with a huge mallet
drugged.gif

I just looked at the Ojama Trio ruling concerning Snatch Steal. My bad.

As for the Thousand-Eyes Restrict/Book of Moon ruling, look at this message from the Judge's list:

http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=3648#3648

I'm surprised this message hasn't come up in the discussion. But since the message was posted back in February, I can forgive you all for neglecting to mention it.
You see, the thing is, we know how it DOES work. What John is doing is making us examine the reason why. Clearly there has to be logical explanation why one Ignition Effect would resolve and the other wouldn't, even if it's a BKSS. I personally think its one of those pesky Ignition activations with Continuous resolutions effects, but who knows?
 
skey23 said:
WHAT is not related to this discussion? woltarr is keeping this 'discussion' back on track from what was ORIGINALLY asked in this thread, BEFORE John came in and mucked it all up!..;)
The ruling that TER cannot absorb Blindly Loyal Goblin. My apologies for poor wording, and also if I offended you by my debating off topic.
-pssvr
 
woltarr said:
Thousand-Eyes Restrict
Attrib: Dark
Type: Spellcaster/Fusion/Effect
Level:1
Atk: 0
Def: 0
"Relinquished" + "Thousand-Eyes Idol" As long as this card remains face-up on the field, other monsters cannot change their battle positions or attack. Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field and equip it to this card (this effect can only be used once per turn and you can only equip 1 monster at a time to this card). The ATK and DEF of this card become the same amounts as the monster equipped to this card. If this card is destroyed as a result of battle, the equipped monster is destroyed instead.

errr dude the efct clearly state "cannot atck" and not " cannot declare a atck"

the monster is still atcking in damage step 2

the atck goes trough when it causes damage

woltarr
As I said, once you have entered the damage step, no effect can stop the attack, and it will go through unless the targeted monster or attacking monster is destroyed.
-pssvr
 
woltarr said:
Thousand-Eyes Restrict
Attrib: Dark
Type: Spellcaster/Fusion/Effect
Level:1
Atk: 0
Def: 0
"Relinquished" + "Thousand-Eyes Idol" As long as this card remains face-up on the field, other monsters cannot change their battle positions or attack. Select 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field and equip it to this card (this effect can only be used once per turn and you can only equip 1 monster at a time to this card). The ATK and DEF of this card become the same amounts as the monster equipped to this card. If this card is destroyed as a result of battle, the equipped monster is destroyed instead.

errr dude the efct clearly state "cannot atck" and not " cannot declare a atck"

the monster is still atcking in damage step 2

the atck goes trough when it causes damage

woltarr
Woltarr, an attack in the Damage Step cannot be interuppted. Thousand-Eyes Restrict prevent your opponent from "attacking". An attack in the Damage Step has already reached the point of no return. Thats why there are no replays in the Damage Step. Thousnd-Eyes doesn't have the ability to stop an attack that has already in the completion phases.

There are only a handful of cards thjat stop an attack in the Damge Step and the have the abilty to be activted in the Damage Step. TER does not have this ability because he prevents attack from being declared. He doesn't stop attacks that have already reaached the point of no return.
 
pssvr said:
The ruling that TER cannot absorb Blindly Loyal Goblin. My apologies for poor wording, and also if I offended you by my debating off topic.
-pssvr
The link was posted to reference the 2nd question and answer given, not the 1st, you know....The one that specifically mentions "Book of Moon" vs "TER". I'm sure you read the whole thing...right?

Also, you'll know when you offend me...lol..:)
 
I have now read the whole thing. I STILL say it has nothing to do with the debate. Everyone here knows what happens when TER is chained by BoM. The question at hand is why. But it's good to know I haven't offended you :D
-pssvr
PS back to Alg2 :(
 
Exactly....I'm not questioning what the ruling IS.....I'm questioning WHY it is as such.

Any number of people can quote rulings here. I applogize if it was misunderstood and people thought I was asking for a ruling <soft smile>

We like to go beyond that here and figure out WHY it is ruled the way it is. There have been numerous occasions where such pondering and questioning of a ruling brings about eventualy change.

If nothing else it sends people on a tangent of research and understanding the rulings they know instead of just quoting them.
 
No one here is dumb enough to believe YOU would ask for a ruling. Some of us (me) are close, but not quite there. :D
-pssvr
<EDIT: well, so far no one has thrown any monkeys, it's all good for now>
 
Just remember, to us, "Off Topic" is when we're talking about a card and someone asks why Val Kilmer looks so much like that guy from the DOORS. In other words, if it related to the topic athand, it isn't considered off topic. After all, we're not Po-er...other forums.
 
Speaking of which, do you know what Barney Rubble's job was on the Flintstones? lol. More importantly, does the targeted monster actually become an equip card if it turns out that it SHOULD be destroyed by a game mechanic? This could be relevant if the monster were Dark Necrofear.
-pssvr
 
Back
Top