Timing Breakdown Questions

DarkLogicianOfCaos

Eschew Obfuscation
When a card has a Mandatory Trigger Effect and it is Triggered in the middle of a chain, I know that it waits for the current chain/card to finish resolving before it "starts a new chain", but is that when the card Activates (does it wait to Activate), or does it Activate in the middle of the resolving chain and simply wait to start a chain. I'm thinking in terms of Cards that say, if X is not the case, this card cannot activate, in which the X will be the case when the current chain/card is finished resolving, but is not the case when the Trigger goes off.

Also, the fixed ruling on Jinzo and Call reads almost as if Call is not going to the Graveyard at the exact same time as Jinzo, but rather, as Jinzo is leaving the Field and heading to wherever, it the continuous effect of Call goes off Destroying itself. That being so, what happens when Call or Pre- (let's stick with Pre- for now) is equipped to a Crystal Beast Monster, taking up the 5th S/T spot and said Crystal Beast is destroyed? The two Continuous effects don't form a chain. Theoretically, Crystal Beast must head to the Graveyard or S/T Zone BEFORE Pre- follows to the GY, but YGO does not always follow conventional wisdom. What says the community?
 
Here is the reasoning behind the ruling.

As soon as "Jinzo" is deemed destroyed, his continuous effect is immediately 'deactivated'. At that exact same moment in time, the continuous effect of "Call of the Haunted" is 'reactivated'. It sees that "Jinzo", it's target has been destroyed, so it self destructs.


Hmm, that sounds familiar....http://www.cogonline.net/showpost.php?p=359429&postcount=10

eh, it just sounds better coming fromyou, I guess.
 
The reason I ask, is to demarcate this from the standard chain resolution procedure we're all used to. When destroyed by an effect, we'd still have to wait for the effect to resolve before Jinzo is considered destroyed, I'm presuming. The way you phrased it "when it's considered destroyed" would seem to only apply to battle. For effects, unless the changed that resolution rule, which I seriously doubt, then a change really wouldn't matter.
 
Here is the reasoning behind the ruling.

As soon as "Jinzo" is deemed destroyed, his continuous effect is immediately 'deactivated'. At that exact same moment in time, the continuous effect of "Call of the Haunted" is 'reactivated'. It sees that "Jinzo", it's target has been destroyed, so it self destructs.

At least, that's the way it was explained to me a while back when I asked.

still struggling with this a bit... isn't this, now, more in line with snatch steal, cyber phoenix & opponents machine, creating a loop... in that the "negation" does not cause snatch to loose track of its "targeted monster" or premie similarly temporarily negated then later destroying target when its destroyed....so now call of the haunted still keeps track of its target even tho' / while being negated....and when source of negation is gone and target is gone - it will destroy its self... dont know that i have the exact functionality down yet... sigh...
 
Back
Top