Weird call of the tournament

John Danker

Administrator
I just thought I'd start posting the weirdest rulings call I'm asked to make each tournament for fun.

Des Moines Regional last Sat.

Player 1 special summons Thousand Eyes Restrict and absorbs Player 2's face down monster, ends turn.

Player 2 draws and sets a monsters, ends turn.

Player 1 draws and in main phase 1 activates Nobleman of Extermination on the face down eqip. to his own Thousand Eyes Restrict.

If you want me to tell you how I ruled it I'd be happy to but it's not the intention of this thread. What I want to do is present scenarios to you to rule, on the spot, without looking them up.

It never fails, you always seem to run into at least one scenario you haven't seen before no matter how long you've been judging!
 
John Danker said:
Yes, it was answered on the judge's list a day or two ago.
It's funny John, if it had occured in a real situation i probably would have ruled it the same way as you, saying it was legal.

But having the time to research and really digg into it, this ruling really seems erronous to me. I definately don't agree with it.

This is a great example that players should keep in mind. Even great Judges, when put in an on-the-spot situation have to make fairly quick decisions, and whether right or wrong have to stick by them.

It's very easy to make mistakes under pressure. What's nice for you is knowing that in the end you made the right one, it's a great feeling as a Judge to know that you made the right call when you were unsure.
 
Back
Top