Winged Sage Falcos vs Sangan

squid

removed from play
I need help. it seems I have started dreaming of scenarios dealing with ygo rulings. Unfortunately, my dream delirium makes it difficult to fully comprehend myself...o_0

Anyways, I use Winged Sage Falcos to attack Sangan. Sangan is sent to the Graveyard and I opt to use the effect of Falcos to send it back to the top of my deck.

From what I understand, both effects activate at the end of the damage step. Since Sangan is mandatory, and Falcos appears to be optional (ie: carries the "can" term) I am assuming that the order of events is that

link 1: Sangan
link 2: Falcos

resolve Falcos first, putting Sangan at the top of the owner's deck. Resolve Sangan, putting an Appropriate monster in the owner's hand.

Is this a correct interpretation?
 
I thought the idea was to get to search your deck with Sangan shuffled into it. Hey, it still works. You need to stop eating bean burritos before bed time. Switch to raw meat. It's where I get my inspiration.
 
But it wont. That's what Skey was pointing out.

You can return your opponent's face-up Attack Position monster, that this card destroyed and sent to the Graveyard as a result of battle,

Ok there, if I destroy my own face up ATK position Sangan, that was on the opponent's side of the field, with Winged Sage Falcos, here it appears legal to try and put it back on top of the deck. But, Falcos has to look in the opponent's deck to find the monster it destroyed. That monster, my Sangan, is not in my opponent's Graveyard. And then there is the 2nd part:

...to the top of your opponent's Deck.
makes it impossible for me to resolve. Because Im trying to put my own Sangan on top of my opponent's deck.

Wouldn't that cause a conflict? I don't know if my opponent has a Sangan decked. If they draw one, how do I know if it is mine or theirs? Its like the reason that Twin Headed Behemoth has its ruling, no?

Im pretty sure the precedent for Parasite Paracide allows me to put my own monster in their deck, but because Falcos asks for the opponent's card to the opponent's deck, it seems that the text is trying to imply a very specific kind of monster, not ones that have had their control switched.


*sigh* maybe I need more vegetables in my diet. That's it.
 
I'm inclined to believe that in this case, it's just a case of bad wording. I believe the intetion was to always try return it to the top of the owner's deck.

Now if their really wantng to be picky about the "opponent's deck" part of the text, then it seems that they would also have to be picky about the rest of the text that allows the monster to go to "the Graveyard", any Graveyard and return to your opponent's Deck. Unusual, but allowable if the text is literal.
 
the intention of the effect is generally assumed to be simply a monster that is destroyed. But there is nothing I see that is mechanically unsound in returning a monster of yours that you destroyed to your opponent's deck. Just...odd, that's all.
 
I was rethinking this on my walk for lunch and started thinking about this one again. I'm starting to sway to hte belief that the combo won't work because of hte "checking" factor of things. While we do have the precedent of Parasite Paracide, we also have the precedent of destroying your own swapped Vampire Lord and not getting the effect. I think this might apply as well. At the time that we say "Hey Sangan, go to the top of the opponent's deck" we look at see that Sangan is indeed our own monster and can't perform such a deed.
 
Well, there is still another monster with the same effect but a "similar" text:

Mystical Knight of Jackal

When this card destroys 1 monster on your opponent's side of the field and sends it to your opponent's Graveyard as a result of battle, you can then return the card to the top of your opponent's Deck.
In order to activate the effect of "Mystical Knight of Jackal", the monster that "Mystical Knight of Jackal" destroyed as a result of battle must be your opponent's own monster, not one of your monsters that your opponent controls.
 
Back
Top