Would this work?

bao magician

New Member
Player A has a face down Dark Dust Spirit,a face up Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys and a face down Ceasefire

Player A draws,quickly after drawing(still in the draw phase) he activate Ceasefire,flipping Dark Dust Spirit face up,Dark Dust Spirit destroys all face up monster on the field,then on the standby phase Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys return to the field destroying all spells and traps

Is this correct?
 
disagree - the complexity is what makes yugioh so fun - but the worst thing by far is the ambiguity... things should be clear & concise irregardless of how many words are used in a card text - most of you are really experienced and can "reverse logic" your way through things knowing how they have worked in the past - for newer players this is not so...extrapolations and interpolations are difficult without the extensive knowledgebase/history of the game many of you posess.....even judges at regional events ofter cannot agree... i've had quite a few bummer rulings...
opponent summons 2 cyberdragons at once..
opponents jinzo does not remove when summoned by rfdd...
my wildheart does remove when summoned by rfdd...
my big burn wont work against opponents pot of avarice...
lessons learned - research hpw things work beforehand....
knowledge is power in this game....
 
HorusMaster said:
I understand it a bit more but I think that the terminology used in the card text was vague and ambiguous. I guess that's why a lot of people have confusions based on Flip effects, flipped face up and flip summoned. A simpler and easier printing that stated " FLIP: (EFFECT) are not activated at this time" would be less confusing for Ceasefire.
The thing is, this particular one is pretty clear cut. Any effect preceded by the capitalized "FLIP" and the colon :)) is a Flip Effect. Anything without it is not. Ceasefire specifically says "Flip Effects are not activated at this time."
 
Digital Jedi said:
The thing is, this particular one is pretty clear cut. Any effect preceded by the capitalized "FLIP" and the colon :)) is a Flip Effect. Anything without it is not. Ceasefire specifically says "Flip Effects are not activated at this time."

So, does Ceasefire work in this situation or not? The card text does not show FLIP, but rather Flip. If the ruling is that FLIP effects are not activated, then I understand that Ceasefire works in this situation.
 
Ok, Ceasefire's text is just that way, it has been understood that "Flip" in the Ceasefires text means "FLIP:" nothing else.
 
slither said:
Ok, Ceasefire's text is just that way, it has been understood that "Flip" in the Ceasefires text means "FLIP:" nothing else.

I understand but then you get someone that states:

The thing is, this particular one is pretty clear cut. Any effect preceded by the capitalized "FLIP" and the colon :)) is a Flip Effect. Anything without it is not. Ceasefire specifically says "Flip Effects are not activated at this time."
__________________
Mark Daniel Martinez
Council of Heroes
EGI Intern, Empyre Group, Inc

and it just makes it confusing again. If the ruling for Ceasefire is such that it incorporates FLIP effects, then I accept the situation. But if the ruling is that Flip effects don't activate, then the situation does not work as Ceasefire cannot activate Dark Dust Spirit's effect of destroying all monsters on the field. That's all I'm asking. Give me a DEFINITIVE ruling for the effect.


 
HorusMaster said:
I understand but then you get someone that states:

The thing is, this particular one is pretty clear cut. Any effect preceded by the capitalized "FLIP" and the colon :)) is a Flip Effect. Anything without it is not. Ceasefire specifically says "Flip Effects are not activated at this time."
__________________
Mark Daniel Martinez
Council of Heroes
EGI Intern, Empyre Group, Inc


and it just makes it confusing again. If the ruling for Ceasefire is such that it incorporates FLIP effects, then I accept the situation. But if the ruling is that Flip effects don't activate, then the situation does not work as Ceasefire cannot activate Dark Dust Spirit's effect of destroying all monsters on the field. That's all I'm asking. Give me a DEFINITIVE ruling for the effect.


I had to remove that smiley form my last post. it wasn't supposed to be there.

Okay, I think I see what the problem is. The problem your having is understanding what a Flip Effect is. You have to understand that Dark Dust Spirit is NOT a Flip Effect. Nightmare Penguin is NOT a Flip Effect. Spirit Monsters are NOT Flip Effects.

Flip Effects are cards that begin like this: "FLIP:" That's a capital FLIP and a semi-colon. If it does not have that , then it is NOT a Flip Effect.

Just because a card states that it effects activates when it flipped face-up does not make it a Flip Effect. It HAS to specifically begin with the capital "FLIP" and the semi-colon. :))

Ceasefire is very specific in that it sates "Flip Effects" are not activated. Dark Dust Spirit is not a Flip Effect.
 
HorusMaster said:
I see the point...but in this situation, Ceasefire would then only inflict 500 points of damage because Dark Dust Spirit would be the only card on the field? Or is damage calculated before the destruction of all monsters?
Going back to the question, though...


Draw Phase

Ceasefire activates. Ceasefire resolves, flips all monsters face-up, and deals damage (1000 damage, because there are 2 monsters).

Dark Dust Spirit's effect activates (because it was flipped face-up). Dark Dust Spirit's effect resolves, and destroys all face-up monsters on the field (i.e. Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys).

Standby Phase

Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys' effect activates. Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys' effect resolves, Special Summons itself, and destroys all Spell & Trap Cards on the field.
 
Back
Top