Yubel Cards rulings?

chenw

New Member
The card in question has mostly to do with Yubel - The Ultimate Nightmare, but some of the card text applies to the other 2 as well.

Is the part of the text 'If this card battles an opponent's monster, inflict damage to your Opponent equal to the monster's ATK and destroy it at the end of the damage step' considered to be activating? Because Drillroid has pretty much the same effect but it was not considered activation for the purpose of say My Body as a Shield.

I am asking this question because I am currently building a Yubel deck, and figuring out what side deck cards do I need the most. I am thinking that Light-Imprisoning Mirrors are a must because of Light and Darkness Dragons, but I am not sure whether I should also side Shadow Imprisoning mirrors (to counter Plasma and DAD)

speaking of Shadow Imprisoning mirror...

If SIMirror is active, and Yubel - Terror Incarnate is removed from the field, would its effect resolve if it was:

1. Returned to the Deck
2. Removed from play
3. Returned to hand

According to text of SIM, it only seems that Terror's effect to special summon Ultimate Nightmare is only negated if s/he is sent to the GY.

Lastly, if Yubel is destroyed by Chain Destruction, I assume her special summon effect works as stated?

Thanks in advance :)
 
Is the part of the text 'If this card battles an opponent's monster, inflict damage to your Opponent equal to the monster's ATK and destroy it at the end of the damage step' considered to be activating? Because Drillroid has pretty much the same effect but it was not considered activation for the purpose of say My Body as a Shield.

The problem with Drillroid and Yubel when it comes to My Body as a Shield is that you cannot activate My Body as a Shield during the damage Step (sans actual calculation), when the effect of destroying the Monster takes place.

speaking of Shadow Imprisoning mirror...

If SIMirror is active, and Yubel - Terror Incarnate is removed from the field, would its effect resolve if it was:

1. Returned to the Deck
2. Removed from play
3. Returned to hand

According to text of SIM, it only seems that Terror's effect to special summon Ultimate Nightmare is only negated if s/he is sent to the GY.

Lastly, if Yubel is destroyed by Chain Destruction, I assume her special summon effect works as stated?

Thanks in advance :)

The "destroyed Yubel" effect takes place wherever Yubel lands (it does not activate on the field, in other words), therefore, as long as it does not land in the graveyard, the effect will take place with SIM. This is based on the fact that if your opponent controls Yubel, you still get its effect, when it is destroyed, not your opponent.

Lastly, yes, it activates if it is destroyed in the hand or deck.
 
Just so that everybody is clear here...

The effect of "Drillroid" does activate and use the chain.
UDE FAQ said:
If "Drillroid" attacks "Dreamsprite", both are mandatory Trigger Effects with the same timing, so they form a chain with "Dreamsprite" as Chain Link 2. "Dreamsprite" resolves first and, according to her effect, causes damage calculation to happen immediately. Since the effect of "Drillroid" only happens without damage calculation, the effect of "Drillroid" disappears.
If it didn't activate, then it wouldn't form a chain with "Dreamsprite".
 
Back
Top