Blasted Gearfried...

Dillie-O

Council of Heroes
Okay, here's the skinny, and I want to make sure I'm doing this right.

Player A has a Gearfried the Iron Knight on the field and a set trap (assume everything properly set). Player B has a Berserk Gorilla on the field.

Player B declares an attack of Berserk Gorilla to Gearfried.
Player A responds by activating their set trap, Blast with Chain, targeting Gearfried.

No other cards are activated in the chain, so now we resolve.

Blast with Chain equips itself to Gearfried.
Gearfried's effect triggers, destroying Blast with Chain and sending it to the graveyard.
Blast with Chain's second effect activates, allowing Player A to destroy one card on the field. Player A chooses to destroy Berserk Gorilla.

Did that resolve properly? Or do we have to wait until the end of damage calculation before Blast with Chain's second effect occurs? The way I'm seeing it, all of this activity can occur before we begin the damage calculation process, so Player A has effectively "Sakuretsu'd" their opponents attack.
 
You are correct, since multiple chains can occur in the battle step, though not the damage step. It is interesting, however, that in this scenario, one card was activated, and THREE chains resulted.
-pssvr
 
so beserk atks you let him atk and at the damage step you activate blast on gearfried first he while boost to 2300 destroying beserk en at the end of damage step blast while be destroyd and the effect of destroying 1 card as the effect of blast while activate

this come's from the fact
that blast was already activated in the damage step so battle damage goed 1st and the effect of blast come's second
in my opinion

i think this is the why it goes
but i could be wrong:p
 
finaldragons said:
so beserk atks you let him atk and at the damage step you activate blast on gearfried first he while boost to 2300 destroying beserk en at the end of damage step blast while be destroyd and the effect of destroying 1 card as the effect of blast while activate

this come's from the fact
that blast was already activated in the damage step so battle damage goed 1st and the effect of blast come's second
in my opinion

i think this is the why it goes
but i could be wrong:p

I don't think it happens that way.

I think it happens this way:

1. in the damage step Gearfried will boost to 2300 because of Blast.
2. When the chain of blast has resolved (or even between two chain links, don't know which one) it will immediately be destroyed, it WON'T wait until after the attack, so you can destroy Berserk with it before it has even been killed by Gearfried.
 
uhmzz oke gonna try this :p

if it is activated before the damage step
beserk cant finish his atk because he is no more

if you activate it in the damage step
the monsters are already in battle
so gearfried while boost to 2300
and beserk goes away and then the effect of blast while resolve

just what i'm thinking
 
finaldragons said:
uhmzz oke gonna try this :p

if it is activated before the damage step
beserk cant finish his atk because he is no more

if you activate it in the damage step
the monsters are already in battle
so gearfried while boost to 2300
and beserk goes away and then the effect of blast while resolve

just what i'm thinking

It would be that way, if the effect of Gearfried didn't activate IMMEDIATELY when an equip card targetting him has resolved.

It's the same with activating Rush Recklessly in the damage step on Spirit Reaper. It's destroyed immediately after Rush Recklessly has resolved.
 
oke now i see it(i think)
so if you play this beserk while stil be death by the effect of
blast so damage calculation is just skipped

that where i have my problem
with thinking
because this would be the only combo to kill a monster without
it's own effect of skipping damage calculation (that i now of)
like drillriod etc.
 
BUT, we've already established that there can be only one chain in the damage step. So Finaldragons was actually right the first time. If your opponent had another Berserk Gorilla on the field, it would be better to wait until the damage step.
-pssvr
 
pssvr said:
BUT, we've already established that there can be only one chain in the damage step. So Finaldragons was actually right the first time. If your opponent had another Berserk Gorilla on the field, it would be better to wait until the damage step.
-pssvr

Alright, so Berserk isn't destroyed, but then Gearfried is destroyed because it loses the attack from blast, because it's destroyed in the same chain, right?

And btw, can you please show me a link where it says that you can only use 1 chain in the damage step, because I thought that only "manually started" chains can only start once, but chains that start because of an effect can start more than once in the same damage step.


EDIT:

[font=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]
Judge List said:
2. Please don't read too much into the legality of multiple chains. Yes, you can have multiple chains, but for the most part that's only practical during the Battle Step (the first half of each attack) and for mandatory Trigger Effects during the Damage Step.

So, I was correct after all, unless it's been outdated.
[/font]
 
pssvr said:
Given that ruling (if you can call something so vague a ruling), it would appear that Chillout was right all along.
-pssvr

But what I quoted from the judge list was from January 2005, so that ruling is very old, but it's also the only ruling about it I could find.

@ Skey:

Maybe because during the battle step the opponent can chain more traps/spells to it then he/she can during the damage step ;)
 
I think the following will happen (with some extra steps, to make it more clear):

1) Berserk Gorilla (player A, turnplayer) declares an attack in the Battle Step on Gearfried the Iron Knight (of player B)
2) In the Damage Step, player B activates Blast with Chain. Normally spoken, the attack of the targeted (in this case Gearfried) monster goes up with 500 (in this case to 2300 points).
3) Therefore, normally spoken player A would get overflow damage on his own attack.
4) However, Blast with Chain changes itself to a Equip (Spell) Card, so the effect of Gearfried triggers.
5) Gearfried destroys Blast with Chain (and it is another card effect), so the controller of Blast with Chain may choose which card to destroy.
6) I guess that Blast with Chain resolves first, before the overflow 'resolves'. Berserk is destroyed by the effect of Blast with Chain.

However... 1 little question remains... What if the battle 'resolves' first? And there are no other cards on the field.. I think you'd need to say byebye to Gearfried, or not?
 
If the battle "resolved" first, and gearfried were the only card in play, he would die. But it would appear that the battle does not "resolve" first, and so berserker dies.
-pssvr
 
Since UDE seems to be treating this like so many other difficult questions this is what we know so far. Gearfried is a continuous effect so Blast with Chain will be destroyed immediately after it resolves (thus the 500 boost would be lost). Now here is the sticky part. There is no window for Blast's destruction effect during this part of damage calculation. In OCG the destruction effect Disappears (no window for it). Here it has been assumed it would go into effect in the resolve effects portion after damage calculation. But with no formal ruling we may wind up with the effect Disappearing eventually. Isn't this fun? :)
 
Back
Top