Deck Devastation Virus v.s. My Body as a Shield

Tkwiget

Da Twiggy Man!
Bringing back a new discussion because I've been thinking about it a lot more with Deck Devastation Virus semi-restricted.

Player A has a face up defense Giant Orc and a Set Deck Devastation Virus. Player B has a face up Don Zaloog and two Sheep Token. Player B also has Apprentice Magician and Tsukuyomi in hand. Player B has a Set My Body as a Shield.

It's at the beginning of Player B's turn and he draws and then enters Standby Phase. Player A activates his Deck Devastation Virus and tributes his Giant Orc to the Graveyard for the cost. Player B chains My Body as a Shield.

In the previous discussion about this situation, we aGreed that Deck Devastation Virus would be negated because we knew that My Body as a Shield would destroy something. However, Deck Devastation Virus and the way the card is worded doesn't destroy anything until resolution of the card.

My Body as a Shield can't chain to cards that may or may not destroy a monster. This would imply that My Body as a Shield couldn't chain to Deck Devastation Virus.

Anyone else seeing this? I want to make sure that we weren't skewing the game mechanics before with the lack of understanding them compared to how we understand them now. The discussion was quite a while ago too.

I just want to make sure we have a definite understanding between these two cards. Some of us judges have regionals this weekend and I for one feel that these two cards will be used and this situation will come up at least once or twice at the regional I'm judging at.
 
That's what I was thinking. Even with the text of My Body as a Shield you can argue differently. Since it says, "a card that has the effect that destroys 1 or more monsters on the field" in the text. In the example I gave, Deck Devastation Virus would express an effect that has the effect to destroy 1 or more monsters on the field.

However, I agree with Cropz on this one. Mostly because of how Deck Devastation Virus is worded. First word after the sentence that tells you want the cost is, is the word "Check". that implies you destroy upon resolution.

Alright, I can stop thinking about Deck Devastation Virus v.s. My Body as a Shield now.

Thanks! XD
 
From what I remembered about this discussion earlier, unless the game knows it is going to destroy a targetted monster in that fashion My Body as a Shield cannot be used. Even if my opponent after activating The Shallow Grave and I Special Summon some 2000 or more ATK DARK monster in face-down Defense Position and he/she Special Summons a 1500 or less ATK monster in face-down Defense Position cannot chain My Body as a Shield to my Deck Devastation Virus because the game does not know if a monster is going to be destroyed first.
 
"My Body as a Shield" can only be used against effects that will destroy monsters at that time. So you cannot use "My Body as a Shield" when "Tribe-Infecting Virus" is summoned; you can only use it in response to the activation of "Tribe-Infecting Virus"'s effect, at which point the effect of "Tribe-Infecting Virus" is negated and "Tribe-Infecting Virus" is destroyed. Also, you cannot use "My Body as a Shield" against cards whose effects will not destroy a monster right away, so you cannot use "My Body as a Shield" against "Jigen Bakudan", "Ekibyo Drakmord", "Magical Hats", "Steel Scorpion", "Toon Monsters", "Thunder Nyan Nyan", "Gradius' Option", "Summoner of Illusions", "Limiter Removal", "Call of the Haunted", "Premature Burial", or "Autonomous Action Unit".

You cannot use "My Body as a Shield" against cards whose effects might or might not destroy a monster right away, such as "Earthshaker", "Barrel Dragon", "Acid Trap Hole", or "Time Wizard".


Those rulings say other wise. Deck Devastation Virus doesn't destroy monsters right away. It checks the hand, field, and the cards you they draw for the rest of the current turn and the next additional two turns.

My Body as a Shield can't chain to a card in the middle of that card resolving. Deck Devastation Virus is checking first and then destroying last. This happens during the card resolution of Deck Devastation Virus.
 
And what Cropz posted is that My Body as a Shield does not look at the situation. According to the powers that be at Konami it can be used against one list of cards and cannot ever be used against another list. Thus you can always use My Body as a Shield against Deck Devastation Virus.

This seems to be more a function based on the type of card effect. For example Deck Devastation Virus is going to destroy any of the cards that fit it's criteria (so it may or may not destroy anything), while Time Wizard is going to destroy a card no matter what the coin flip is yet you can't use Deck Devastation Virus against it because of it's variable nature.
 
last time around what we came upto was that.

IF you know the card will destroy you can use My Body as a Shield to negate it.

IF the card has to check if it will destroy then you cannot activate it becuase currently you dont know if cards will be destroyed or not.

So the scenerio would be 2 face up 1400

in this case you can activate it.

but lets say there are 2 face down 1400

Since your opponent doesnt know what they are you cant activate My Body as a Shield since the only person that knows that creatures will be destroyed is you becuase you have knowledge of all your face down creatures unlike the opponent who is playing Deck Devestation Virus.

now if both players know then it goes back to what i stated about the face up creatures. Both players know that there will be creatures destroyed so you can activate My Body as a Shield against it.

its like Tribe-Infecting Virus.

You dont have to call out anything, But the moment you do both players know something will be destroyed.
 
What what about this situation?

Player A has three face down monsters and a Set My Body as a Shield. Player B has Giant Orc and Deck Devastation Virus on the field. Player B activates Deck Devastation Virus and tributes Giant Orc.

Ask yourself when Deck Devastation Virus checks the hand and field to destroy something in that situation. Would Player A in this situation get to legally chain My Body as a Shield to negate and destroy Deck Devastation Virus?

You either can or can't. There shouldn't be any situational times where My Body as a Shield can activate. It requires to destroy a monster at that time. Such as the rulings it has. You look at Acid Trap Hole. You activate it and when do you check to see if you destroy a monster or not? Upon resolution.

Now look at that situation I drew up for Deck Devastation Virus v.s. My Body as a Shield. When does Deck Devastation Virus destroy monsters?

EDIT: Whether you check or not isn't important. It's whether or not Deck Devastation Virus is destroying something at that very moment or not.

You must assume that the person being affect by Deck Devastation Virus has a hand of three or four when this effect is applied.
 
Dark Hole, When does it destroy creatures on activation or resolution?

Resolution.

Like I stated about DDV, only if both players know a creature will be destroy then you can officially be able to negate.

if only 1 player knows and the owner of DDV doesnt then you cant activate it becuase the opponent playing the destroy effect doesnt even know if they will be able to destroy anything.
 
Comparing Dark Hole with Deck Devastation Virus isn't that great of an example. Dark Hole doesn't "check" to destroy monsters. It just destroys all monster on the field. Huge difference.

Which brings me to my above post. When does Deck Devastation Virus destroy monsters?

You can't use My Body as a Shield against Acid Trap Hole because it may or may not destroy a monster.

I'm not disagreeing with you guys because in that previous thread we came to the agreement that you could use My Body as a Shield against Deck Devastation Virus.

It reminds me a lot about that Dedication through Light and Darkness v.s. Necrovalley discussion we had in another thread.

The only thing I'm wondering about is if we were right with DDV v.s. My body. =/
 
I wasnt comparing anything about the two other than the destroy effect.

The destroy effect is done upon resolution, the reason you can activate My Body as a Shield is becuase it will destroy.

Hence forth for DDV if BOTH players know that creatures WILL be destroyed then you could activate My Body as a Shield.

if its nothing but face down creatures then you cannot, activate My body as shield since by the time you find out creatures are beign destroyed the card is already resolving and you cannot interrupt the resolution of a card.
 
and it goes back to what i kept talking about when its public knowledge and both players know that creatures will be destroyed then you can activate it.

when its private then you cannot since you cannot interrupt the resolution of a card.
 
Alright, good. Everyone's still on the same page like in the old DDV v.s. My body discussion thread. Excellent!

Plus it's a great reminder for you guys because both of these cards should be increasing in play.
 
Back
Top