"Divine Wrath" rulings (Not yet).
Since there are 2 threads debating how "Divine Wrath" works (though on different tangents, 1 in general, and 1 in regards to how "Sinister Serpent"'s effect operates), I just wanted to post a heads up to all the "Divine Wrath" questions that I took and posted asked on the mailing list.
I got a response back from Curtis that there is no word on the "Divine Wrath" rulings (including vs. "Sinister Serpent") currently.
My guess is that this all got forwarded to Konami to have them figure it out.
So in the meantime, that just leaves us with our own conjecture (aka "theory") on how to properly rule on this card. And let's face it... we will all be seeing this card heavily played.
I have my ideas on how I would rule some of the sticky subjects... and I know other people's opinion will vary (just look at the threads). The only thing is if you do rule 1 way, just stay consistant with that until we do have a definative answer.
- Andrew
P.S. For those wondering, I view "Divine Wrath" only to negate the effect at that one time of activation. Reason behind this, if you have "XYZ-Dragon Cannon" equipped with "Heavy Mech Support Platform" and you discard a card to destroy a card on the field and your opponent chains "Divine Wrath", the effect is negated and in this instance "Heavy Mech Support Platform" is destroyed in place of "XYZ-Dragon Cannon". Now, there's nothing stopping the player from activating "XYZ"'s effect again.
In the case of "Marie the Fallen One", that would be a trigger effect so "Divine Wrath" would negate her effect for this turn only... come next turn you would gain 200 life points again.
For "Sinister Serpent", well, the way they write one ruling makes it look like it's a Cost Effect while the way they write another ruling, it's a Trigger Effect. After thinking about it... I'm going to go with "Optional Trigger Effect" so "Divine Wrath" would negate grabbing "Sinister Serpent" for this 1 turn only. You can get him back next turn.
vs. "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" - you can use it again both of his effects. This is different from "Element Dragon" because "Element Dragon"'s effect of attacking twice is given within a continous effect (an effect as a result of an effect... ugly I know), while BLS's effects are a Cost and a Trigger. Yeah I know this last point will likely cause much disagreement, but again, this is just how I see it.
[Edited out the incorrect info]
Oh I so love this card...
Since there are 2 threads debating how "Divine Wrath" works (though on different tangents, 1 in general, and 1 in regards to how "Sinister Serpent"'s effect operates), I just wanted to post a heads up to all the "Divine Wrath" questions that I took and posted asked on the mailing list.
I got a response back from Curtis that there is no word on the "Divine Wrath" rulings (including vs. "Sinister Serpent") currently.
My guess is that this all got forwarded to Konami to have them figure it out.
So in the meantime, that just leaves us with our own conjecture (aka "theory") on how to properly rule on this card. And let's face it... we will all be seeing this card heavily played.
I have my ideas on how I would rule some of the sticky subjects... and I know other people's opinion will vary (just look at the threads). The only thing is if you do rule 1 way, just stay consistant with that until we do have a definative answer.
- Andrew
P.S. For those wondering, I view "Divine Wrath" only to negate the effect at that one time of activation. Reason behind this, if you have "XYZ-Dragon Cannon" equipped with "Heavy Mech Support Platform" and you discard a card to destroy a card on the field and your opponent chains "Divine Wrath", the effect is negated and in this instance "Heavy Mech Support Platform" is destroyed in place of "XYZ-Dragon Cannon". Now, there's nothing stopping the player from activating "XYZ"'s effect again.
In the case of "Marie the Fallen One", that would be a trigger effect so "Divine Wrath" would negate her effect for this turn only... come next turn you would gain 200 life points again.
For "Sinister Serpent", well, the way they write one ruling makes it look like it's a Cost Effect while the way they write another ruling, it's a Trigger Effect. After thinking about it... I'm going to go with "Optional Trigger Effect" so "Divine Wrath" would negate grabbing "Sinister Serpent" for this 1 turn only. You can get him back next turn.
vs. "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" - you can use it again both of his effects. This is different from "Element Dragon" because "Element Dragon"'s effect of attacking twice is given within a continous effect (an effect as a result of an effect... ugly I know), while BLS's effects are a Cost and a Trigger. Yeah I know this last point will likely cause much disagreement, but again, this is just how I see it.
[Edited out the incorrect info]
Oh I so love this card...