Freed: the anti-decker

Status
Not open for further replies.

somewan

Custom User Title
So I was trying to deck out my opponent, and I was really close. Then Freed the Matchless General came out.
Crap.
"I choose to use his effect" (on his draw)
"Nope, no lv4 warrior in there; just a spell and 2 traps, see?"
"I end my turn"
me: .....
lather, rinse...
Oh so many turns later, I decked out.
ugh.
 
Honestly the loop has been there for a while, just no one really realized it cause a lot of players think it's crap or something.

Anyway, the only reason the loop works is because the contents in your deck isn't public knowledge. Only the deck size.
 
No, his deck becomes Public Knowledge when he fails to pull a Warrior from his Deck. You can check it to see if he has any remaining everytime he fails to pull one, but if he doesnt return any cards to his deck, then it really doesnt matter, does it?

Regardless, you can still use Freed's effect every turn because it doesnt say you must have a Warrior, it just says you can search your deck for a Warrior-type monster instead of drawing that turn.
 
Tkwiget said:
Honestly the loop has been there for a while, just no one really realized it cause a lot of players think it's crap or something.
I don't see any other use for this combo/effect except to keep from decking out. But since you aren't adding any cards to your hand and your opponent now knows what's left in your deck, you need to know that Freed is staying out and now you're just stalling.
Maybe I don't play much, but this is the first time I've seen this done intentionally. I've come across someone trying to use his effect and finding out there were no monsters to pull, but he became a great stall; he can't be booked, brained, snatched, controlled, cored, etc...oh well...I was impressed.
 
Yeah, I've sent a few Freeds to the Removed From Play Area with a Bottomles or twenty. Never had anyone try to deck me out with it though. Interesting strategy. Is the deck you dueled with posted?
 
I'm playing around with an Exchange of the Spirit deck (gotta love those sneak preview cards), so it's still in the works. Nothing posted yet. The guy I was playing was the one with the Freed (not posted either).
 
Oh I realize. I was just wondering what your deck was running that didn't allow for Freed's removal and what could have been done differently that wouldn't hurt the overall build. Just me thinking, again. ;)
 
Freed's effect states that you can activate it "....instead of drawing"

With no option to draw I'm going to boldly assume that one could not activate it's effect if the option of drawing isn't present.
 
I know I read a ruling somewhere that stated that you must "normally" be able to draw in the Draw Phase of that turn in order to use Freed the Matchless General's effect. If you cannot draw, you cannot activate his effect since that action takes place "instead of" drawing.
 
John's correct. It's like this ruling.

Soul Exchange with Panther Warrior. You can't offer a monster in your Battle Phase for the cost of declaring an attack with Panther Warrior if you don't have access to the Battle Phase in the first place.

In the case of Time Seal/Offerings to the Doomed, if your opponent doesn't have access to their Draw Phase, they don't have access to Freed's effect. Simple logic right there.

The Draw Phase is a requirement to activate Freed's effect. Just like how the Battle Phase is a requirement to activate Panther Warrior's effect.
 
More importantly, the DRAW ITSELF is a requirement. Just like you can't activate Rope of Life if there are no cards in your hand, you MUST be able to pay the cost to activate the card.

-pssvr
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top