Harpie Lady Sisters

Bigred Blues

New Member
Harpie Lady Sisters
Effect Monster (Winged Beast / WIND / 6 Stars / ATK 1950 / DEF 2100)

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by the effect of "Elegant Egotist".


Recently Harpie Lady Sisters were Deemed "Nomi" and could not be be special summoned except through the effect of "Elegant Egotist".. Recently on the realms someone has brought up questionable proof. I will post it here
Harpie Lady Sisters can be special summoned from the graveyard if properly summoned. I asked UDE if the card errata was correct, and it's not. It's been taken down from the site, and I got an e-mail saying HLS is not a "nomi" creature. My guess, is that when writing HLS' errata for the DB1 version, they accidently put "cannot" instead of "only" on the web site and confused everyone.

The moral of the story is, HLS can be special summoned from the Graveyard.

-----Original Message-----
From: Chris Blair [mailto:csbtransition@hotmail.com]
Sent: Thursday, January 20, 2005 1:34 AM
To: entertainment
Subject: Harpie Lady Sisters errata?

In the Card Errata section, Harpie Lady Sisters says "cannot be
special-summoned except", unlike the Metal Raiders and Dark Beginnings
versions which says "can only be special summoned". I'm only asking if
this
is correct because Tip Card #2 says I can special summon Harpie Lady
Sisters
is she was special summoned correctly first.

-Please clear this up,


Thank You,

Hello,

If you summoned Harpie Lady Sisters, then you can reborn her (them).

Eric Tice
Game Support Rep
Upper Deck Entertainment


I would like to know what you people think on the Subject. Was Harpie Lady Sisters on Eratta List? Because I looked and I did not see them there...http://www.upperdeckentertainment.com/yugioh/faq_errata_01.aspx
 
That's news.

I'd say in leiu of a Judge's List announcement, if it's not listed on the website then it's no longer an errata.

For the time being, Harpie Lady Sisters is no longer a "Nomi Monster."
 
The newer text is correct and any older text is replaced by newer text. If it is not in the errata list it is probably by mistake.

Actually this is not something new. HLS has always been ruled as a nomi monster though it was called such at the time.

Spot's Knight
 
spotsknight said:
The newer text is correct and any older text is replaced by newer text. If it is not in the errata list it is probably by mistake.

Actually this is not something new. HLS has always been ruled as a nomi monster though it was called such at the time.

Spot's Knight
Spots, HLS is not a supposed to be a nomi monster. This is most definately a mess up on UDE's part.

The JPN HLS is not a nomi. Unless they change it there, this is most definately an error here.
 
densetsu_x said:
I did ask this on the mailing list back when the DB1 card first came out and was told by Curtis to go by the errata and that it is a Nomi monster.

Yeah, but the errata was on the website when DB1 was released. Right now it's NOT on the website, so the question is:

"If it's not on the website anymore, does this mean the official stance on "Harpie Lady Sisters" being "Nomi" has been reversed?"


"It's still in the PDF booklet." Do you see the "Big Shield Gardna" "errata" in there? I didn't think so. Yet "Big Shield Guardna" from DB1 is listed on the site as that he should have the name "Big Shield Gardna." The lesson? Can't trust the PDF to be the most updated source.
 
Blue-Eyes Black said:
The lesson? Can't trust the PDF to be the most updated source.

Irregardless, Harpy lady sisters has been printed with the word Except on it. The lack of errata doesn't mean anything. The most recent printing is correct until otherwise noted. There will have to be Errata posted showing a new version of the text.

(Also neither the Html nor the pdf showed Luster Dragon #2 at one point, that didn't not mean it was no longer errata'd)
 
The errata for "Harpie Lady Sisters" has indeed been removed.

As such, "Harpie Lady Sisters" is not a nomi monster, despite what the misleading picture on netrep.net's Card Registry may lead you to believe. The actual Dark Beginnings version (DB1-EN146) was printed as follows:

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by the effect of "Elegant Egotist".

So...there you go. I hope that helps!
 
Then are they going to errata "Exodia Necross"? Since that has the same kind of summoning requirements (a spell card needed to bring him to the field) yet he's still considered a Nomi Monster but "Harpie Lady Sisters" isn't? There is absolutely no consistancy then if that will remain the case and further, how are people supposed to know the difference other than on a card by card basis and essentially memorizing each one?
 
Kenjiblade said:
The errata for "Harpie Lady Sisters" has indeed been removed.

As such, "Harpie Lady Sisters" is not a nomi monster, despite what the misleading picture on netrep.net's Card Registry may lead you to believe. The actual Dark Beginnings version (DB1-EN146) was printed as follows:

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card can only be Special Summoned by the effect of "Elegant Egotist".

So...there you go. I hope that helps!

Thanks for the clarification. However, a couple things ...

- Does this also mean that "Exodia Necross" and the other monsters that are Special Summoned through the effect of a Spell Card are also no longer nomi monsters?

- netrep.net indicates information as dispersed by UpperDeck Entertainment. Since (as usual) there is no notification to the general public about changes in errata, you must forgive us for going by the latest information available to us. We will, of course, change the text at the earliest convenience.

(The errata we have is from the official PDF file, which as of this moment still states that HLS is nomi)

And since I've probably already made you annoyed, can you please explain why the MRD-EN009 version of Harpie Lady Sisters states :

This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by the effect of "Elegant Egotist".

Scan of MRD-EN009

It's pretty obvious that the card text in DB1 is older than the text used for the "Master Collection 1" reprints. So, I assume that this means we will be seeing an errata to correct that particular card?
 
How can people tell the difference now if the text Harpie Lady Sister and Exodia Necross are alike?


Exodia Necross (Nomi)
This card can only be Special Summoned by the effect of "Contract with Exodia".

Harpie Lady Sisters (Not Nomi)
This card cannot be Normal Summoned or Set. This card cannot be Special Summoned except by the effect of "Elegant Egotist".
 
Back
Top