just want to check

squid

removed from play
Ive checked the rulings in the Registry, so I fairly confident of the answer, but...... its always better to ask than assume.

If I attempt to tribute a Horus monster (or other Level type monster) to summon the next level up, while End of Anubis is face up on the field, will the effect fail to resolve properly?
 
yeah, but the thing is that End of Anubis will negate the effect because the card is attempting to activate and resolve its effect while in the Grave. The cost of sending the monster to the Grave is just that: the cost. It is separate from the actual activation of the effect.
 
Lets put aside the whole "activate on the field vs. in the graveyard" arguement aside.

End of Anubis will only negate effect that begin the activation sequence in the Graveyard.

Horus is on the field when you decide to pay the cost and start the activation.

My belief is that it will not be negated, however there is (as far as i know) no official ruling on it.
 
And that's why I brought up the whole "Exiled Force" thing again. I choose to activate his effect while he's on the field. To activate the effect, I have to pay the cost of tributing him. I have still activated the effect while it was on the field.

Why is that different than the LV monsters?
 
squid said:
wow. Im glad I checked back here. I mean, even the text on the Horus cards state to send it to the Graveyard. Very very similar to how Witch of the Black Forest or Sangan is worded.

In fact, it is the Exiled Force ruling that originally led me to connect it to EoA negating Horus.

Why wouldn't it?
They are very different:

"When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard"

So this card is already in the Graveyard by the time it Triggers. It does not send itself. It must get there by some outside means.

"During the End Phase of a turn that this card destroyed a monster as a result of battle, send this card to the Graveyard..."

Conversely this card has to be manually sent to the Graveyard from the field by the effect itself as cost.

I guess it should be answered on the board.
 
A few thoughts. End of Anubus doesn't negate costs. You can still summon Bacon Lettuce Soldier with End of Anubus on the field.

Similarly, the sending of Horus to the Graveyard is the cost of the special summoning, so the effect still seems to be activating "on the field" to prevent Anubis from stopping it.
 
This isn't really a cost negating issue. Anubis doesn't stop you from removing monsters for BLS because you are not "targeting" the light and dark monsters in the graveyard. Anubis says nothing about "costs".

Anubis only negates cards that target a card in the graveyard or that "activate" in the graveyard.

I will probably go to my grave still swearing that End of Anubis would not negate Exiled Force or a LV monster that is Leveling Up. But I wouldn't hold my breath on getting that answer from Upperdeck.
 
I'm going to go agianst the trend here and say both Exiled Force and the level up monster's effect to special summon thier higher levels can be negated bu End of Anubis.

Allow me to explian. Based on my observations and on my own belief on how the game functions (the can o' worms i'm about to open has yet to be clarified by ude) I believe Costs for card effects are piad before the card effect is activated. Meaning before Exiled Force's effect even activated it would need to be in the graveyard as you need to pay it's cost.

Now I know people will argue that i'm wrong here and your welcome to (this is my understanding of it) But let me explian something. When you negate the activation and effect of a card that required a cost to activate you don't gian back the cost right? if you did then is could be suggested the cost is piad at the point of activation but since it isn't i believe the cost is piad before the card effect is activated.

Thats just my take on it and how i can explian why Exiled Force's effect can be negated.
 
your right too.

the lv monsters if end of anubis is on the field will get negated.

they have to be in the graveyard in order for the rest of the effect to finish resolving.

"were it lands, its were it resolves"

If Exiled Force tributed is remove from play while end of anubis is on the field, Exiled Force effect will not be negated.

If Exiled Force is tributed and end ups in the graveyard while The End of Anubis is on the field, its effect will be negated.

It is not a graveyard effect but, if it ends up there itll be negated.

this is based on the rulings for Exiled Force that we got not so long ago.

so, this in mind, if horus were to get RFP the next horus doesnt come out because it must go to the graveyard.

and since it must go to the graveyard, its easily said that while The End of Anubis is on the field its effect can be negated.
 
"The End of Anubis" WILL NOT negate Ignition Effects unless it requires the monster to be in the Graveyard when the Ignition Effect is activated (such as "Amazoness Chain-Master").

that is from EoA's rulings. Exiled doesn't have to hit the graveyard to work, so it isn't negated, for starters.

The Horus', however, MUST hit the graveyard, and as such, will be negated by The End of Anubis.

-chaosruler
 
novastar said:
They are very different:

"When this card is sent from the field to the Graveyard"

So this card is already in the Graveyard by the time it Triggers. It does not send itself. It must get there by some outside means.

"During the End Phase of a turn that this card destroyed a monster as a result of battle, send this card to the Graveyard..."

Conversely this card has to be manually sent to the Graveyard from the field by the effect itself as cost.

I guess it should be answered on the board.


your right in that they are very different. I should have been more careful with my sloppy grouping of card effects. However, it was the fact that both had to go to the Graveyard that really caught my attention.

I think chaosruler stated my own thinking better than I did, so....what he said;)
 
chaosruler said:
"The End of Anubis" WILL NOT negate Ignition Effects unless it requires the monster to be in the Graveyard when the Ignition Effect is activated (such as "Amazoness Chain-Master").

that is from EoA's rulings. Exiled doesn't have to hit the graveyard to work, so it isn't negated, for starters.

The Horus', however, MUST hit the graveyard, and as such, will be negated by The End of Anubis.

-chaosruler

The real kicker here is the board directly conflicts with that. You should know the judge board has on it a thread stating that The End of Anubis will negate Exiled Force.

I'm gonna research some and let you know
 
Back
Top