Necrovalley Qustion?

anthonyj said:
"Necrovalley" will NOT negate effects that do not target a card or cards in the Graveyard. So "Necrovalley" will NOT negate the effects of "Dark Necrofear" (when destroyed and sent to the Graveyard), "Revival Jam", "Winged Sage Falcos", "Twin-Headed Behemoth", "Mystical Knight of Jackal", and "Red-Moon Baby".

So your theory is that Mystical Knight of Jackal does not affect a card in the Graveyard?

I must admit it seems quite odd to me that Penguin Knight and Fiber Jar are "Targeting" effects (does that mean that if I chain Mystik Wok to send my Treeborn Frog to the Graveyard after Fiber Jar has been flip summoned that my Treeborn Frog won't be shuffled back into my deck because it was added after Fiber Jar "Targeted" the contents of my Graveyard?) :)

Certainly something worth posting to the Judge's List. Necrovalley itself doesn't state that it requires the card in the Graveyard to be Targeted in order to negate it, but the rulings certainly seem to state that it only prevents Targeted effects. Aside from Penguin Knight and Fiber Jar that is.

-Edit- I do so enjoy these issues. :)

I do have an explanation for those 2 particular cases... it might not be 100% but this is the way I see it, when those monsters get destroyed by either Mystical Knight or Red-Moon Baby... once they hit the grave, they tell themselves: "hey I got destroyed by a monster and now I must return either to the top of the deck or the field, or stay here".

I know it sounds ridiculous, but it brings us up to the fact that those monsters are selected by themselves per-say, it is not Red-Moon or Jackal saying hey, you come back to my field or hey get yourself on top of the deck.
 
slither said:
I do have an explanation for those 2 particular cases... it might not be 100% but this is the way I see it, when those monsters get destroyed by either Mystical Knight or Red-Moon Baby... once they hit the grave, they tell themselves: "hey I got destroyed by a monster and now I must return either to the top of the deck or the field, or stay here".

I know it sounds ridiculous, but it brings us up to the fact that those monsters are selected by themselves per-say, it is not Red-Moon or Jackal saying hey, you come back to my field or hey get yourself on top of the deck.

Yet it is the controller of Mystical Knight or Red-Moon Baby who decides if the effect will bring those cards out of the graveyard or not. So how exactly have they selected themselves? They most certainly didn't receive this effect while they were still on the field because the effect won't trigger until the monster has hit the Graveyard. Add to that the fact that this effect is chainable and Divine Wrath will negate it and destroy Mystical Knight (not the monster selecting itself). Certainly that proves that it is the effect of Mystical Knight which has the effect and the decision to remove the monster from the Graveyard and place it back on top of the deck. Thus the only answer left is that it is a non-targeting effect. And Necrovalley only prevents Targeted effects (and those that select all of the cards in the Graveyard).
 
Ok, I was misleading on the Red-Moon Baby and Jackal issue... im not argueing about the issues nor I don't understand every single explanation, I started in this thread (if you see my #7 post), thinking that same thing, maybe this is the most logical explanation:
And Necrovalley only prevents Targeted effects (and those that select all of the cards in the Graveyard).

But im still esceptical, not to be stubborn or nothing, but it's quite difficult to ignore every issue and just accept it as a rule.
 
slither said:
Ok, I was misleading on the Red-Moon Baby and Jackal issue... im not argueing about the issues nor I don't understand every single explanation, I started in this thread (if you see my #7 post), thinking that same thing, maybe this is the most logical explanation:


But im still esceptical, not to be stubborn or nothing, but it's quite difficult to ignore every issue and just accept it as a rule.

And you have every reason to be sceptical. The rulings are rather vague on this. And we haven't received a ruling at all yet regarding Infernal Reckless Summon being considered a Targeting effect with regard to monsters in the graveyard. This is all conjecture and I certainly hope that someone will post a question to the Judge's List to see what answers we can get with this.
 
Update.....

Here is the answer I got back from Dan reguarding "Necrovalley"....

Necrovalley doesn't only negate cards that target. Any effect that involves a card in the graveyard as part of the resolution effect will be negated.

It doesn't matter if you select the card at activation (target), or have to choose them during the resolution of the effect.
Take it how you want to...lol.
 
Back
Top