Returning Unions

Jathro

New Member
Quick one... If a Monster and its Union counterpart are Special Summoned by Return from the Different Dimension, can the Union monster be equipped to the correct monster to prevent the monster from being removed from play?

Example:
I play Return from the Different Dimension and bring back Spirit Reaper, Zombie Tiger and a Decayed Commander. Main Phase 2 I equip Decayed Commander with Zombie Tiger. What happens next? Will Zombie Tiger be removed, protecting my Decayed Commander from the effect? Or will both still be removed because of RFtDD?

Thanks!
 
The Union monster is no longer considered the same monster summoned by Return from the Different Dimension as it is now an equip. The equipped monster will still be removed from play (even if it is Heavy Mech that is equipped to it because it is not being "destroyed" just being removed). And this will leave the Union monster no longer properly attached and thus it will be destroyed via Game Mechanic and sent to the Graveyard.
 
Actually look at the text of Zombie Tiger. It doesn't say anything about protecting Decayed Commander from being "removed" from the field. It only protects Decayed Commander from being destroyed as a result of battle.

When Zombie Tiger is equipped to Decayed Commander and is turned into an Equip Spell Card, it's connection to Return from the Different Dimension is disconnected. Decayed Commander still has that connection; thus, he will be removed from play via Return from the Different Dimension because Zombie Tiger doesn't protect him from this kind of an effect.

Anthonyj was correct, just seemed a little unclear on exactly the "why" part. I hope my explaination gave you a more detailed look at how the situation would turn out.
 
Ok, let me complicate things then. What happens if I use Return from the Different Dimension to special summon Freezing Beast and Burning Beast. During my Main Phase, I use the effect of Freezing Beast to equip it to Burning Beast. During the Battle Phase, I activate Combination Attack to separate the monsters. Then during my Main Phase 2, I use the effect of Burning Beast to equip it to Freezing Beast.

Can I assume that both Union monsters are now separated from the lingering effect of RftDD, and will remain on the field?
 
squid said:
Ok, let me complicate things then. What happens if I use Return from the Different Dimension to special summon Freezing Beast and Burning Beast. During my Main Phase, I use the effect of Freezing Beast to equip it to Burning Beast. During the Battle Phase, I activate Combination Attack to separate the monsters. Then during my Main Phase 2, I use the effect of Burning Beast to equip it to Freezing Beast.

Can I assume that both Union monsters are now separated from the lingering effect of RftDD, and will remain on the field?
The connection in this situation with both monsters would be gone. Return from the Different Dimension is looking for the monsters it brought by through its effect. They turn into Equip Spell Cards and then into monsters. From unequipping an Union Monster, you're special summoning the monster.

Combination Attack Special Summons the Union Monster that's equipped to another. This is what seperates its' connection from Return from the Different Dimension.
 
Twiget is correct. Neither monster would still be under the effects of RFTDD. However in his explanation he sites the Special Summon of Combination Attack as the source of the seperation where it actually occurs when the Union Monster resolves into an Equip. Combination Attack was only used in the given example to allow Freezing Beast to go from being an Equip Card back to a Monster again and thereby facilitate Burning Beast's Main Phase 2 Equipping to Freezing Beast.
 
Tkwiget said:
Really? According to this ruling it says I'm correct.

Which is why I pointed out it was poorly worded by UDE. It isn't. The card doesn't say anything at all about Special Summoning. It could be inferred that that should be what happens since when you use the effect of a Union monster to unattach itself it Special Summons itself back to the field. But there is no wording on Combination Attack to suggest that it is a Special Summon.
 
Combination Attack is implying two choices in its' text. Face up attack and face up defense. This is implying that if you have a choice in your position (unless otherwise stated your position options, such as D.D. Survivor) then it's a summoning. In this case it's a Special Summoning.

Monsters that are placed on the field give you no position options at all. Such as cards like Interdimensional Matter Transporter and Dimensionhole. They merely "place" the monster back onto the field.

What's the process of how Union Monsters change from Equip Spell Cards to Monsters? They're Special Summoned.

Change the Union Monster back to a monster in face-up Attack or Defense Position.

You're changing the Union Monster's card type. This is using the Union Monster's effect.
 
I'm not implying UDE of anything. They don't necessarally have 100% control over the rulings of the cards.

But think about it for a moment. The entire process of how Union Monsters change card types is a Special Summoning.

Change the Union Monster back to a monster in face-up Attack or Defense Position.
Just think about it the meaning of that sentence. This isn't like Dimensionhole or Interdimensional Matter Transporter. If the rulings that say the equipped monster is special summoned didn't exist, then I wouldn't disagree with you or anyone else that says it isn't a special summoning. However, that reality isn't what we're looking at.

We have to facts about that sentence that I can see. A Union Monster is changing card types and you're given options as to what position the monster will be in. The position options imply to me that the "change" of the monster is a Special Summoning.

@_@
 
Come on Tk we both know, heck we all now that hints, "facts", and rulings in this game can vary from one day to another.

I'm not siding yet with anyone as im not in the least sure, heck a ruling can overlap many things as can a text.

**remeber the Special Summon face-down thing, there was a ruling saying that a SSFD was a set?**
 
Back
Top