Royal Oppression

kingpinopie

Himoura Shinta
Ok... Royal Oppression... can it negate ANY special summon?? BLS.. Nimbles... etc?? and do you have to pay 800 each time you negate ??
 
The answer to your 1st question is in the 1st ruling for "Royal Oppression". From the UDE FAQ:

"There are basically 2 ways to Special Summon a monster. The first way is with a Spell Card like "Monster Reborn", a Trap Card like "Call of the Haunted", or an Effect Monster like "Magical Scientist". The second way is built in to the monster, and Special Summons it without activating an effect, such as "Black Luster Soldier - Envoy of the Beginning" or "Dark Necrofear". "Royal Oppression" can negate both of these types of Special Summon. In the first case, you chain the activation of "Royal Oppression"'s effect to the activation of the Spell, Trap, or Monster Card's effect, and negate the effect. In the second case, right before the monster is Special Summoned, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon (the same procedure that you use for "Horn of Heaven" or "Solemn Judgment")."

I bolded the key sentence in that ruling.

The answer to your second question is YES, you MUST pay 800 life points EVERY time you choose to use the effect of "Royal Oppression", the same goes for your opponent, since they can use your "Royal Oppression" as well.

Hope this helps!
 
A negated summon means the summon was "undone" or "rewound" so there is no issue of priority here. The monster is considered to have never made it to the field, so unless it has an effect like Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys which doesn't require it to be on the field to be destroyed, then the monster cannot use it's effect.
 
novastar said:
Yes, you chain it directly to V-Lord or Phoenix's effect and negate the effect.

They are not destroyed (because they are still in the Graveyard) and will not return.

You're wrong about that:

"When "Vampire Lord" is Special Summoned by its effect, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon and destroy "Vampire Lord". If your "Vampire Lord" is destroyed in this way by the effect of a "Royal Oppression" card controlled by your opponent, then "Vampire Lord" was destroyed by a card controlled by your opponent, and is Special Summoned during your next Standby Phase."
 
novastar said:
Yes, you chain it directly to V-Lord or Phoenix's effect and negate the effect.

They are not destroyed (because they are still in the Graveyard) and will not return.

Off the cuff that was my first thought too, then I remembered the ruling on Royal Oppresion with Vampire Lord which states...

When "Vampire Lord" is Special Summoned by its effect, you can activate the effect of "Royal Oppression" to negate the Special Summon and destroy "Vampire Lord". If your "Vampire Lord" is destroyed in this way by the effect of a "Royal Oppression" card controlled by your opponent, then "Vampire Lord" was destroyed by a card controlled by your opponent, and is Special Summoned during your next Standby Phase.

My best guess here is that since it's in the process of being special summoned it's not in the graveyard? <scratching my head> Then the summon is negated and it returns to the graveyard? <knocking my head on the table>
 
I'm well aware of the Royal Opression ruling on this. However, it seems dated.

The Phoenix ruling for Divine Wrath states:

Official FAQ said:
You can activate "Divine Wrath" when "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" is Special Summoned by its own effect. Because this effect activates in the Graveyard, and is being negated while "Sacred Phoenix of Nepthys" is in the Graveyard, "Sacred Phoenix of Nepthys" is never Special Summoned (so the card is never moved from the Graveyard) and is never destroyed. Because it is not destroyed, its effect to Special Summon itself does not activate again.

That ruling is newer, and the mechanics work the same for Royal Oppression, so i would suggest that the older RO ruling is erroneous.
 
There is a difference between those 2...

Divine Wrath negates the activation of the EFFECT and Royal Oppression negates the SUMMONING...

The effect of V-Lord and Phoenix activates in the graveyard, but you can only activate the effect of Oppression the second they hit the field... That's why they don't return with Divine, but they DO return with RO.

At least, I think it's this way...
 
I can't disagree with you saying it seems sim. It's a darn good question and worthy of a post to the judge's board. They don't like to explain the mechanics difference though which is what I want to know. I'll give it a go just the same.
 
Chillout1984 said:
There is a difference between those 2...

Divine Wrath negates the activation of the EFFECT and Royal Oppression negates the SUMMONING...

The effect of V-Lord and Phoenix activates in the graveyard, but you can only activate the effect of Oppression the second they hit the field... That's why they don't return with Divine, but they DO return with RO.

At least, I think it's this way...

Look at the text of RO again....

"Pay 800 Life Points to negate a Special Summon of a monster and the effect of a card that Special Summons a monster and destroy it. Both you and your opponent can use this effect as long as this card remains face-up on the field."

So you are chaining it directly to the effect of V-Lord/Phoenix. You are negating the "effect" not a simple "summon" declaration. You are doing this exactly as you would chain Divine Wrath.

The first part of the effect is refering to non-chainable Special Summons like those from Hand.
 
John Danker said:
I can't disagree with you saying it seems sim. It's a darn good question and worthy of a post to the judge's board. They don't like to explain the mechanics difference though which is what I want to know. I'll give it a go just the same.
I appreciate that John, you seem to have much better luck with the board than I.

I don't mind being wrong here, i just really wanna know why.

Also while you are at it, ask of Horn/Solemn can be used against the "revival" effects as well. I also feel that they is an inconsistancy/misconception there too.
 
novastar said:
Look at the text of RO again....

"Pay 800 Life Points to negate a Special Summon of a monster and the effect of a card that Special Summons a monster and destroy it. Both you and your opponent can use this effect as long as this card remains face-up on the field."

So you are chaining it directly to the effect of V-Lord/Phoenix. You are negating the "effect" not a simple "summon" declaration. You are doing this exactly as you would chain Divine Wrath.

The first part of the effect is refering to non-chainable Special Summons like those from Hand.
I always presmed that last part of the sentence was only refering to the "summon" part of card effect that actually Special Summons and not any additional effect the monster may have.
 
Back
Top