Skilled Dark Magician vs. Double Spell

The Spell Card is actually activated by you through use of Double Spell's effect. Ituses up one of your Spell/Trap Zones. SO if your opponent controlled Skilled Dark Magician, then it would get a counter for both Double Spell and the "stolen" Spell Card.


EDIT: Wait, I hadn't noticed this was changed:

If the selected Spell Card is Ritual, Normal, or Quick-Play (except for "Swords of Revealing Light"), it remains in your opponent's Graveyard and is not placed on the field, so you only need 1 vacant Spell & Trap Card Zone spot (for "Double Spell" itself) to activate "Double Spell".



So forget what I just said.
 
What's intersting is that this didn't used to be the case. You used to have to have two available Spell/Trap Zones for Double Spell to be activated.

That does still apllies for Continuous and the like, however:

If you activate "Double Spell" and select a Continuous, Field, or Equip Spell Card, or "Swords of Revealing Light", you place the selected Spell Card in your Spell & Trap Card Zone, so you need 2 vacant Spell & Trap Card Zone spots (1 for "Double Spell", 1 for the selected card). The Continuous/Field/Equip/"Swords of Revealing Light" Spell Card then remains on the field as normal.

Interesting revision.
 
That's true. Wave Motion Cannon may not start collecting ticker marks at all, if retrieved via Double Spell.

But more, if I were to activate Double Spell and retrieve, say Level Limit Area B, since LLAB isn't being activated, can my opponent chain to it? I would think they would have to chain to Double Spell,otherwise they miss the opportunity.

Worse! If the Spell card brought back has no activation point, like Autonomous Action Unit, do you pay the cost? (thats probably a simple no, since it should be using the effect, not the cost, but hey, I tend to overreact about a lot of things.)
 
Nearly all of this is in the rulings.

1. You select the card you are activating in your opponent's Graveyard when you activate "Double Spell". "Double Spell" can then be chained to after you announce your selection.

2. The selected card itself CANNOT be chained to as you are in resolution of the chain at that point.

5. The player who activates "Double Spell" pays any costs for the selected Spell Card (for "Delinquent Duo", "Tribute to The Doomed", etc.).
 
squid said:
That's true. Wave Motion Cannon may not start collecting ticker marks at all, if retrieved via Double Spell.

But more, if I were to activate Double Spell and retrieve, say Level Limit Area B, since LLAB isn't being activated, can my opponent chain to it? I would think they would have to chain to Double Spell,otherwise they miss the opportunity.

Worse! If the Spell card brought back has no activation point, like Autonomous Action Unit, do you pay the cost? (thats probably a simple no, since it should be using the effect, not the cost, but hey, I tend to overreact about a lot of things.)
Well, no on Level Limit - Area B, because regardless if its a Continuous Spell Card or not its still not considered activated. Hence my Wave-Motion Cannon question.

But yeah, Double Spell makes you pay costs.
 
I didn't even bother to check if they were in the official ruling list. =/ Now look what I did! xD

So don't feel bad about it squid. I'm in the same boat. LOL
 
Pretty simple. Wave-Motion Cannon does one of two things. Starts generating turns or sits their meaninglessly like how Embodiment of Apophsis does after Jinzo or Royal Decree are face up no the field.

However, I say Wave-Motion Cannon will start generating turns after that turn. Why? Because it's effect was never negated. However, this is so far out there of my level of understanding that I probably am completely wrong. =/
 
anthonyj said:
A continuous spell selected by Double Spell is considered "Active" once Double Spell resolves. So Level Limit - Area B would kick in and do its job. But I can't say for sure what would happen with a Wave-Motion Cannon.
Ah, well, yes. I meant "no" in response to Squids question on whether it could be chained to or not.

I figure you wont be able to inflict any damage for the Cannon because it is never considered activated, just active. And it's effect depends on counting the number of Standby Phases after "activation".
 
Tkwiget said:
So I was wrong. What else is new...xD


So Wave-Motion Cannon sits there meaninglessly and doesn't count turns for the effect?
I don't what happened to my response to your previous post TK but apparently I hit "delete" instead of "post". :eek:

Well, what I had said was that Wave-Motion Cannon doesn't count Standby Phases as it goes. You as the controller do that. Wave-Motion doesn't actually count anything until you decide to send it to the Graveyard.

So technically Wave-Motion Cannon sits there meaninglessly regardless if it was brought out normally or by Double Spell. The key here is, since it was never considered "activated" then when you go to send it to the Graveyard you inflict 0 damage. At least, I think so.
 
Ok, this is what I'm understanding from what you just said.


Since it was never considered to be activated, wouldn't it be like Level Limit - Area B? I believe from my understanding of that ruling is that after Double Spell resolves completely Wave-Motion Cannon will sit there turn after turn and build up in Standby Phases. Sure if you sent it to the Graveyard the turn Double Spell resolved, it would deal 0 damage. However if you send it to the Graveyard on the next turn it should deal 1000 damage.

That's just my understanding of the cards and my understanding is never that great to begin with. xD
 
But you see, the reason I brought up Wave-Motion Cannon is because it's one of those cards that uses the word "activation" in it's effect text:

Send this card on the field to the Graveyard during your Main Phase. Inflict damage to your opponent's Life Points equal to the number of your Standby Phases that have passed after this card's activation x 1000 points.
If the card is considered to have never "activated" after being brought out by Double Spell then there would be no point of reference for Wave-Motion to count Stanby Phases from.

Originally, I was thinking how this ruling affects cards that have the word "activation" dependent on the resolution of thier effect.
 
Back
Top