Strike Ninja- weird situations

Dr Sin

New Member
I've read Curtis article at metagame.com and just to clarify, let me ask about 2 situations (I think there are some points I didn't understand):

1) TP summons Strike Ninja. NTP has 2 fd s/t (trap hole and BTH). NTP responds with TH (link 1). TP decides to use Ninja's efffect (Link 2) remmoving 2 darks from grave. Then, NTP adds BTH to the chain (link 3). Can TP still use Ninja's ability as link 4, removing Ninja before BTH can resolve, despite of Ninja text states "You can only use this effect once per turn"? (I believe the answer is yes, because I think the text really means activate and resolve once per turn, but I'm not sure)

2) Same as above, but link 3 is now a Divine Wrath. Ninja can use his ability to remove himself even against this spell speed 3 effect?

Thanks in advance
 
Divine Wrath is a perfectly legal chain to this situation, it is being chained directly to Ninja's effect, so it is legal.

As for BTH, if memory serves (and its been a little fried lately) since the chain being built is in response to the summoning of Strike Ninja, it would still be legal to activate BTH because the spell speeds are still legal and nothing has changed yet to make the conditions different, so I would say yes.

Though it would be nice to get a second on that one 8^D
 
Another situation with Strike Ninja: suppose I play Change of Heart or Brain Control on my opponent's Strike Ninja. Later during my turn I use his effect to remove him from play.

When I reach my End Phase, two effects are waiting to resolve: returning Strike to the field ( Strike's effect ) and returning him to his owner (CoH/BC ).

Now, Curtis states that Strike will return to my side of the field and then be returned to the owner, meaning Strike resolved first.

However, since both effects were controlled by me ( I had played CoH/BC and I had activated Strike's effect ), shouldn't I be able to choose the order in which they resolve ? In that case, can I say " Change of Heart resolves first " ( actually causing it to fail to resolve ) and then resolve Strike and keep it with me ?

Thanks

Carlos
 
I'm not so sure, notice that the text of Strike Ninja says....

You can remove this card from play until the End Phase of this turn by removing from play 2 DARK monsters in your Graveyard. You can use this effect during either player's turn. You can only use this effect once per turn.

The terms use and activate are not interchangable in the game of Yugioh.
 
1) TP summons Strike Ninja. NTP has 2 fd s/t (Trap Hole and BTH). NTP responds with TH (link 1). TP decides to use Ninja's efffect (Link 2) remmoving 2 darks from grave. Then, NTP adds BTH to the chain (link 3). Can TP still use Ninja's ability as link 4, removing Ninja before BTH can resolve, despite of Ninja text states "You can only use this effect once per turn"? (I believe the answer is yes, because I think the text really means activate and resolve once per turn, but I'm not sure)
That would not be possible. Strike Ninja's effect is not being negated. He's just being removed from play by Bottomless Trap Hole before his own effect resolves. His effect however will still resolve. It wull just resolve for no effect.
2) Same as above, but link 3 is now a Divine Wrath. Ninja can use his ability to remove himself even against this spell speed 3 effect?
Strike Ninja's effect is Spell Speed 2, so it could not be chained to Divine Wrath as Chain Link 4, since Divine Wrath is a Spell Speed 3 effect.
 
The terms use and activate are not interchangable in the game of Yugioh.
Technically... that is yes and no.

The term "You can only use this effect" actually means something more along lines of "[this player(s)] can only activate this effect".

If something other than "you" were to force activation i believe it would still work...although i don't know of any examples.

The term "use" though is generally in reference to an activation of some sort... but it's not 100%.
 
Dr Sin said:
1) TP summons Strike Ninja. NTP has 2 fd s/t (Trap Hole and BTH). NTP responds with TH (link 1). TP decides to use Ninja's efffect (Link 2) remmoving 2 darks from grave. Then, NTP adds BTH to the chain (link 3). Can TP still use Ninja's ability as link 4, removing Ninja before BTH can resolve, despite of Ninja text states "You can only use this effect once per turn"? (I believe the answer is yes, because I think the text really means activate and resolve once per turn, but I'm not sure)
I also believe the effect isn't considered 'used' until it has been allowed to resolve properly (opens can of worms..lol). In this scenario, nothing has resolved, so activating the effect again in the chain seems perfectly fine to me.
Dr Sin said:
2) Same as above, but link 3 is now a Divine Wrath. Ninja can use his ability to remove himself even against this spell speed 3 effect?
No, "Strike Ninja"s effect is Spell Speed 2 and cannot be chained to a Spell Speed 3 effect.
 
Okay I'll take a stab.

TP Summons Strike Ninja, NTP activates Trap Hole, TP activates Strike Ninja's effect removing two dark(cost) from graveyard to remove Strike Ninja from the game, NTP activates Bottomless Trap Hole and removes Strike Ninja from the Game.

Resolution BTH removes Strike Ninja, Strike Ninja fizzles(cost still being and already paid), Trap Hole Fizzles.

Second set replace link three with Divine Wrath.

Wrath activates( paying costs), negates Ninja(cost already paid) and destroys ninja sending to graveyard, Ninja's effect fizzles, Trap Hole Fizzles

Strike Ninja cannot add himself a second time to a chain because he can only be activated once per turn by TP. Game mechanics will not allow you to pay Ninja's cost a second time which is what is necessary to activate him at all. Also, cannot chain to wrath with Ninja's effect cause not spell speed 3 like wrath.

In chain one ninja is Out of play for good. In Chain 2 Ninja is in graveyard.

That's my two cents worth.
 
skey23 said:
I also believe the effect isn't considered 'used' until it has been allowed to resolve properly (opens can of worms..lol).

I can't believe my ears. When you decalre an attack. and someone negates it with say Magic Cylinder, you have now not attacked see dictionary under negate. However, you cannot then attack again under the rules of Yugi-oh. Even though you are allowed to attack once per turn. Game mechanics knows when something happens even when we keep it from happening.

For instance it has been ruled that you can activate Ceasefire when there is a face down creature on the field. it doesn't matter if both you and your opponent know that it isn't an effect monster. The game doesn't. And in this scenario it doesn't matter that you know Ninja hasn't fully resolved because in the game mechanic it has been activated.
 
Well bullocks on Curtis. Shame on him if once again these idiots want to make this game even harder to play. Are they changing the text on Strike Ninja are they changing the rules of play? Or shall we all line up and accept yet another @#$%^&* exception to the rule. BLAAH It's My Birthday and I'll rant if I want to.
 
I also believe the effect isn't considered 'used' until it has been allowed to resolve properly (opens can of worms..lol). In this scenario, nothing has resolved, so activating the effect again in the chain seems perfectly fine to me.
No, "used" means "activation attempt" whether negated or not. Once you activate and put the effect on the Chain Block...it's been used. Just like BLS not being able to attack...
 
anthonyj said:
So if I wanted to clear all the dark monsters from my graveyard I could just chain Strike Ninja to itself a couple times?
That's what Curtis is saying..lol.

I knew I'd stir up something with my 'statement'..lol!

Sorry, I couldn't resist, hence the 'can of worms' comment....lol.
 
anthonyj said:
So if I wanted to clear all the dark monsters from my graveyard I could just chain Strike Ninja to itself a couple times?

No Kidding. This is really stupid. We are now allowed to do something we've never been allowed to do. So if I have this right. So long as the card starts you can use this effect once per turn and not activate you can just get jiggy with it and and yank all your Dark monsters. How about We bring back Pot, Graceful and Yata and just go crazy?

OMG this is worse than instant replay in the NFL. Are you kidding me?! This is like when I first started playing and found out you could bring back BLS. I was introduced to NAMI monsters lol. Can only be doesn't mean the same thing as except by in some weird Konami dictionary. But I settled in and accepted it and lived with. Even though it was one of the dumbest things I ever heard. I took the tests and learned the game. But for sure for these nitwits to want to change cards every time you turn around is just ludicrous. I'll stick to VS and Magic I think. This gives me a headache.
 
Back
Top