Blasted Gearfried...

Dillie-O

Council of Heroes
Okay, here's the skinny, and I want to make sure I'm doing this right.

Player A has a Gearfried the Iron Knight on the field and a set trap (assume everything properly set). Player B has a Berserk Gorilla on the field.

Player B declares an attack of Berserk Gorilla to Gearfried.
Player A responds by activating their set trap, Blast with Chain, targeting Gearfried.

No other cards are activated in the chain, so now we resolve.

Blast with Chain equips itself to Gearfried.
Gearfried's effect triggers, destroying Blast with Chain and sending it to the graveyard.
Blast with Chain's second effect activates, allowing Player A to destroy one card on the field. Player A chooses to destroy Berserk Gorilla.

Did that resolve properly? Or do we have to wait until the end of damage calculation before Blast with Chain's second effect occurs? The way I'm seeing it, all of this activity can occur before we begin the damage calculation process, so Player A has effectively "Sakuretsu'd" their opponents attack.
 
anthonyj said:
Since UDE seems to be treating this like so many other difficult questions this is what we know so far. Gearfried is a continuous effect so Blast with Chain will be destroyed immediately after it resolves (thus the 500 boost would be lost). Now here is the sticky part. There is no window for Blast's destruction effect during this part of damage calculation. In OCG the destruction effect Disappears (no window for it). Here it has been assumed it would go into effect in the resolve effects portion after damage calculation. But with no formal ruling we may wind up with the effect Disappearing eventually. Isn't this fun? :)

But what about the ruling on the judge list in the beginning of this year?

Has that been changed? If so, where can I find that ruling?
 
anthonyj said:
Since UDE seems to be treating this like so many other difficult questions this is what we know so far. Gearfried is a continuous effect so Blast with Chain will be destroyed immediately after it resolves (thus the 500 boost would be lost). Now here is the sticky part. There is no window for Blast's destruction effect during this part of damage calculation. In OCG the destruction effect Disappears (no window for it). Here it has been assumed it would go into effect in the resolve effects portion after damage calculation. But with no formal ruling we may wind up with the effect Disappearing eventually. Isn't this fun? :)

This is the kind of things that confuses me, I reacently posted a quiestion about the kinds of effect monsters and as I can understad the effect of Gearfried the Iron Knight is not continuous effect, its a triger effect, cause the condition is met (its been equiped), please tel me if Im wrong. And if its efect is continuous it cant be chainable.
 
You are correct. I initially thought Gearfried was continuous as well until I reread his text which says:

When an Equip Card is equipped to this card, destroy the Equip Card.

This indicates that the equip has to be successful before it gets destroyed.

If it were to be a continuous effect, it would potentially be worded like "Destroy all equip cards equipped to this monster." or something like that.
 
I'm looking at the ruling, which is a pairing off of Butterfly Dagger - Elma and it reads as follows:

[Re: Butterfly Dagger - Elma] When "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" is destroyed by "Gearfried the Iron Knight"'s effect, you can chain to this effect with "Really Eternal Rest" and destroy "Gearfried the Iron Knight", and "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" will be destroyed because "Gearfried the Iron Knight" was destroyed, so "Butterfly Dagger - Elma" cannot return to the owner's hand.

...so if I'm looking at things right, the equipping of an equip card to Gearfired triggers his effect. Now since the effect isn't continuous, we're allowed to chain to it. At this point, the equip card is successfully equipped to Gearfried, albeit for a brief moment of time. That allows for the proper activation of Really Eternal Rest.

So in regards to Blast with Chain, Blast would equip itself to Gearfried. Gearfried's effect would then trigger. Really Eternal Rest would be activated. We then resolve. Really Eternal Rest destroys Gearfried. The game mechanic steps in and destroys Blast with Chain. Gearfried's effect attempts to resolve, but BwC has already been destroyed. Blast with Chain does not activate its second effect in the graveyard, since it was destroyed due to mechanic.

Does that flow?
 
Dillie-O said:
Okay, here's the skinny, and I want to make sure I'm doing this right.

Player A has a Gearfried the Iron Knight on the field and a set trap (assume everything properly set). Player B has a Berserk Gorilla on the field.

Player B declares an attack of Berserk Gorilla to Gearfried.
Player A responds by activating their set trap, Blast with Chain, targeting Gearfried.

No other cards are activated in the chain, so now we resolve.

Blast with Chain equips itself to Gearfried.
Gearfried's effect triggers, destroying Blast with Chain and sending it to the graveyard.
Blast with Chain's second effect activates, allowing Player A to destroy one card on the field. Player A chooses to destroy Berserk Gorilla.

Did that resolve properly? Or do we have to wait until the end of damage calculation before Blast with Chain's second effect occurs? The way I'm seeing it, all of this activity can occur before we begin the damage calculation process, so Player A has effectively "Sakuretsu'd" their opponents attack.
Just dropping my opinion. XD

Note: I'm just giving my opinion..another words, what I would rule on this situation.

Let me break up your situation a little further so I can better understand it.

You're asking this?

Player B attacks Player A's Gearfried the Iron Knight with Berserk Gorilla. Player A responds to the attack with Blast with Chain. Blast with Chain resolves completely in the Chain Block and equips himself to Gearfried the Iron Knight. Gearfried the Iron Knight's trigger effect activates and resolves destroying Blast with Chain and then Blast with Chain activates and resolves to destroy one card on the field.

Don't see how that can be confusion at all. The issue here is when Blast with Chain is being activated. In the Damage Step Blast with Chain wouldn't be destroyed until Gearfried the Iron Knight destroys Berserk Gorilla in the Battle Phase. After that I believe that Gearfried the Iron Knight would activate and resolve. Then Blast with Chain would activate and resolve.

The main confusion where the situation could occur would be in the Damage Step since not many cards are activated in the Damage Step on a regular basis (or from what I've seen anyway). So I'd have to throw my ruling and opinion that Gearfried the Iron Knight would activate and resolve at the end of the Damage Step. I'm sure I'm VERY wrong on this. XD
 
An interesting side thought based on the previous post ...

If Gearfried is increased by BwC, and Berserk Gorilla dies in battle, and then Gearfried has his effect destroy BwC, BwC will then activate. It is mandatory. So the controlling player must destroy a card. So long as your opponent has another card on the field that is fine, however if they don't it may be time to say byebye to Gearfried :)

To keep things simple I would activate BwC when the attack was declared, before we went anywhere near the damage step.
 
Tkwiget said:
Actually Blast with Chain just requires a card to be on the field. Doesn't matter where it's located. So it could be yours or your opponent's.

Yep that's why I say 'time to say byebye to Gearfried'!! :)

Such a versatile card ;)

BwC has been very useful, but you do have to be careful when you decide to chain it, and when to let it die. If the only cards on the field are your monster with a face down BwC and the opponent plays Heavy Storm - do not chain!! :)
 
But where does it say that it gets destroyed AFTER damage calculation?

If it gets destroyed before damage calculation and blast's effect doesn't happen / happens after damage calculation, Gearfried loses the atk boost and dies because of battle...
 
That is why this discussion is here... Thinking of the chain, it seems logical to me that it would resolve it the Damage Step. However, Konami/UDE don't give a clear ruling about such things.
 
Chillout1984 said:
It would be that way, if the effect of Gearfried didn't activate IMMEDIATELY when an equip card targetting him has resolved.

It's the same with activating Rush Recklessly in the damage step on Spirit Reaper. It's destroyed immediately after Rush Recklessly has resolved.


thats where your wrong
look at this (from ronin)

- If "Spirit Reaper" is destroyed by its effect during the Damage Step, such as if "Rush Recklessly" was activated to increase its ATK, destroy "Spirit Reaper" with its effect AFTER damage calculation.

so this means
it while go as
beserk atk's
you do not respond
entering damage step
activate blast gearfried while boost and kill beserk
and after battle calculation the effect of blast while activate
destroying 1 card on the field

i could be mistaken but i don't think so
 
Back
Top