Curse of Anubis

Sarothias

New Member
Quick question, can Curse of Anubis be used in the damage step, or is it only quick play spell/trap cards that modify atk/def ratings be activated?

Thanks
 
Actually, with all the arguements lately, I'm inclined to say yes on both issues now, myself. If not CoA, then definitely Blast with Chain though, just for Strike Ninja's reasoning, since I was only inclined to think it wouldn't work because it was also an equip. Sort of a Quick Play Equip if you would. I wonder if Kunai with Chain has any rulings that would affect this though?

I also have one other solution... smack whoever activated it during the damage step instead of the battle phase in the first place. ;)

I can see situations where it would be advantageous to activate Curse of Anubis in the Damage step though, does anyone have access to any official Japanese rulings on cards that might not be posted on UDE's website? Not to take this off-topic either, but have /all/ official rulings come from Japan, or has UDE had any influence at all over any card's ruling?
 
Raigekick, i wouldn't put me down as "Yes" just yet for Curse of Anubis. I originally thought for sure no, and then with the Micro Ray ruling it kind of changed.

After having thought about it for a bit, i really am leaning more towards "No"

I'd rather hear what UDE/Konami has to say in this case, yeah surprising...

Blast with Chain is a gauranteed yes, as is Kunai with Chain.
 
CraniumX said:
Not to take this off-topic either, but have /all/ official rulings come from Japan, or has UDE had any influence at all over any card's ruling?
I know of at least a couple of instances where our rulings differ from the Japanese OCG. Dark Necrofear's effect is one. In Japan, if you MST her while equipped to a monster, she does not come back (at least that's what I'm told). Another one is Hallowed Life Barrier...it does actually protect your monsters like a super Waboku in the Japanese game.

Seems I keep chiming in on this thread on all the off topic stuff, so just to stay legit, I lean toward "Yes" on both cards being legal in the damage step given the Micro Ray ruling. :)
 
CraniumX said:
I also have one other solution... smack whoever activated it during the damage step instead of the battle phase in the first place. ;)

I actually activated this in chain, as my LVL 5 Armed Dragon attacked my opponents Z Metal Tank, my opponent activated Limiter Removal, Limiter Removal, then Blast with Chain, I responded with the CoA.

As you can see my dilemma as Z Metal Tank's attack became 8000 to my 2400, ouch!

I thank everyone's input ;), but would still like a final ruling on the CoA issue, as it will determine whether I continue to use the card in my deck.

/imest
 
I changed my mind on "Blast with Chain", because "Shadow Spell" can be activated on Damage Step, as stated in the old Judge's List found here. I believed now that "Blast with Chain" can be activated in the Damage Step.
 
So this is it?

The end of this thread? I'm sure gonna miss it...

Curse of Anubis can be activated in the Damage Step, as well as Blast With Chain.

That's all folks.... or is it?
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
So this is it?

The end of this thread? I'm sure gonna miss it...

Curse of Anubis can be activated in the Damage Step, as well as Blast With Chain.

That's all folks.... or is it?

Did you get a ruling? or are you assuming based on all of our thoughts?

I really don't see this working, my guess is that Curse will not be allowed... but its just a hunch...

There is no Official Ruling so far... wait and see... or never recieve an answer at all.

Has anyone posted on the board?
 
i guess you learn something new everyday huh? CoA is my favorite trap card out there and i have no idea why... its just so cool... but today and yesterday i learned some about it... this whole thread, and, after closer inspection of the text, i learned that the monster's DEF returns to its normal DEF.... it doesnt stay 0... lol... i didnt read that very well... ^_^;;

(i wish i knew about this thread like, a while ago...)
 
The thread only started yesterday... ;)
There just happens to be a lot of active posters here, each with insights and information to add to the discussion.

If anybody has posted it to the Judges List please let us know, otherwise I'll post it in the morning, get an official stance on it.
 
is this thread over?

If it's not I would like to say two things :D

First, If Mycro Ray can be activated in the Damage Step, CoA could be activated in the DS, However (big However) I guess that changing battle positions is something you can't do before Damage Calculation, so I would say NO (Again! What would happen if a Dream Clown is on the field!? We would become nuts trying to resolve the order of events in the Damage Step!)

Blast With Chain can be activated in DS. It directly modifies the ATK and (as a bonus) it remains attached to the selected monster...It's a shame they limited Mystical Space Typhoon! I used 2 of these with Kycoo before the limitation and I watched Chaos Decks DIE! (Mwahahahahaha! :D)
 
I haven't, then again, I've no idea how to either, lol.
This is definitely one ruling I'd like to see, because my friend is running two or three CoA's right now in his deck which contains a buttload of flip effect monsters and a few "flip-summon" monsters even. It may not come up with him anytime soon, as he's unlikely to activate it during the damage step, but it would definitely be something nice to know. I was looking over the FAQ last night at UDE, and even though Blast with Chain itself has no rulings posted, a search on the A-C page resulted with this little tidbit under "8 Claws Scorpion":

[font=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif] The ATK of "8-Claws Scorpion" becomes 2400 during damage calculation. You cannot chain "Rush Recklessly" or "Blast with Chain" to this effect. If these cards were activated before damage calculation, then the ATK of "8-Claws Scorpion" becomes 2400 during damage calculation so those cards have no effect on its ATK.

So just by that little thing alone would easily seal to me that Blast with Chain definitely can be activated during damage step. Now if we can only clear up the blasted wording on Curse of Anubis. It wasn't mentioned under rulings for any other card but itself, so that search was no help even.
[/font]
 
heh, how about a question to make me look a bit redundant:

how do you post questions on the judges list?? (i feel like a n00b but ive been playin this game since it started (in america))

if anyone does get the ruling for it please enlighten us as quickly as possible... this card is my favorite trap so i want to be sure about it! ^^
 
chaos general said:
how do you post questions on the judges list?? (i feel like a n00b but ive been playin this game since it started (in america))
You need to be at least a Level 1 YGO Judge and a valid UDE number in order to access the Judge's List Forum. Once you're in that forum, you can post your question and wait until they answere it.
 
Raigekick said:
You need to be at least a Level 1 YGO Judge and a valid UDE number in order to access the Judge's List Forum. Once you're in that forum, you can post your question and wait until they answere it.
Forgive me for, yet again, going off topic here...but, do you post directly to the list with the "create new message" button, or do you send the questions to the judge-yu email address? I've been sending mine to the email address and they never seem to get posted...maybe I've been doing it wrong??
 
Raigekick said:
You need to be at least a Level 1 YGO Judge and a valid UDE number in order to access the Judge's List Forum. Once you're in that forum, you can post your question and wait until they answer it.
oh... well how do you become a LV1 judge? i heard that you have to get a membership card or something from an official tourney, but isnt there any other way? (i dont have access to official tourneys)
 
Back
Top