Enemy Controller question

kansashoops

New Member
I just want to make sure this works as I think it does:

Opponent has one or more Scapegoat tokens in face up defense position. I have D.D. Assailant in attack position. I declare an attack on a token and ask for a response (assuming that my opponent has one or more cards set in his spell/trap zone). Opponent declines. I then chain Enemy Controller from my hand to the declaration of the attack, switching the token to attack position, and D.D. Assailant destroys him and does 1700 damage.

This is all kosher, correct?
 
From what i can see...the arrows seem to be pointing towards having a minimum of 2 possible chain points at the Battle Step.

- Attack Response Chain
- Non Response Chain

Once both of those are passed, and both players agree to move on, you enter the Damage Step.

All of this has evolved, so its tough to really get concrete ideas. I think it's a safer bet to go with that.

I appologize for my initial statements, they seem to be wrong.
 
But are we sure there is really such a point? I mean, I can't see anything to suggest that the non-responsive window is actually NECESSARY in the battle step. Of course I know that there can be multiple chains in the battle step, but why multiple chain POINTS? Some scenarios (oh, goody, scenarios :/)

1. P1 attacks, and gains priority to respond. P1 passes to
P2, who passes, proceed to damage step. OR

2. P1 attacks, and gains priority to respond. P1 passes to
P2 who passes, proceed to non-responsive window
P1 activates Enemy Controller (HUH?!?!?! Why not activate it in the response window?) and by default passes to
P2 who passes to
P1 who passes, both players pass consecutively, chain resolves.
After chain resolves, P1 automatically gains priority to begin a responsive chain. Both players pass, proceed to non-responsive window. Both players pass again, proceed to damage step. OR

3. P1 attacks, and gains priority to respond. P1 passes to
P2 who activates Sakuretsu Armor and by default passes to
P1 who may now chain with Enemy Controller and by default passes to
P2 who passes to
P1 who passes, chain resolves.
P1 now gains priority to begin a response chain, passes, and P2 passes. Proceed to non-responsive window.
P1 activates Rush Recklessly (This is going on too long, something must not be right!). And then we have a whole other chain, another response window, and another non-responsive window.

How was that? Food for thought, or monkey provocation? roflol. I really don't know what to think of that, except that when you are allowed to have a non-responsive window in the battle step, it drags on entirely too long. By all means, correct me here. But know that when I first began using the term "Non-responsive window" on a different thread, I had invented it for purposes of explaining the Main Phase, not the battle step.
-pssvr
 
It is often very helpful to elaborate on threads well past the point that the original answer was stated. This gives viewers multiple ways to interpret and comprehend the evidence.

This doesn't mean that you are dumb, pssvr. You have obviously proven that you are intelligent enough to understand many complex game issues, and even debate a point extremely logically, even if mistaken.

But, really, your tone is sometimes very offputting. What you mean as jokes, or witticisms, cannot be easily discerned over the silent medium (net). It often comes out offensive or, if nothing else, insensitive. In person, we might all be rolling on the ground laughing, but here...its almost bewildering. It looks like attacks out of nowhere.
 
Hehe, it's hard to explain IMO. The whole mechanics behind the new Battle Phase rulings on multiple chains is hazzy to me.

However, Novestar is correct in his post. You can create multiple non-response windows right after one another in the Battle Step. But the dead minimum is two.

I believe John showed an example of that when I played him during the preview. He used Fairy Box, it failed, then activated something else. Can't remember what.

But here would an interesting situation, which I'll throw out there. >=) I'm just evil.

P1: Attacks with a monster. Passes priority.
P2: Responds with Sakuretsu Armor.
P1: Chains Seven Tools.

Chain Block ends.

P2: Moves to his/her second response with Gravity Bind.
P1: Has nothing to chain to it.

Chain Block ends. Gravity Bind establishes itself on the field.

Ask yourself if that's legal. Please, don't read too much into it. IMO it's a pretty straight forward situation.

Enjoy. 8^)
 
Acknowledged, squid. I just question why Tiso felt the need to bring that up. We aren't any closer to understanding this than we were before he said that. Well, actually we are, but credit goes to Tkwiget.
And as for Twiggy, Absolutely legal, unless I'm even dumber than I thought (which is possible)...

OH SNAP!!!! I JUST REALIZED WHERE THE ISSUE IS!! Ok, now you've got me thinking... I'm gonna hafta say no, that is not a legal scenario.
-pssvr
 
pssvr said:
Acknowledged, squid. I just question why Tiso felt the need to bring that up. We aren't any closer to understanding this than we were before he said that. Well, actually we are, but credit goes to Tkwiget.
And as for Twiggy, Absolutely legal, unless I'm even dumber than I thought (which is possible)...

OH SNAP!!!! I JUST REALIZED WHERE THE ISSUE IS!! Ok, now you've got me thinking... I'm gonna hafta say no, that is not a legal scenario.
-pssvr

Because we already discussed you were wrong about it. There is no priority this or that when you declare your attack. When you declare your attack, your opponent has the opportunity to respond to it if they have something face-down they can use or whatever. If they do not, you can then activate your Enemy Controller. I could have sworn we been through this.
 
But unless I miss my guess, that is a completely illegal scenario, since Sakuretsu already triggered a replay... Oh, you said 7 tools? I missed that the first time. Yeah, I'm really not helping this debate. Ok, one more try:
That is a legal scenario, because there can be an infinite number of responsive windows as long as at least one player has something to do about it.
-pssvr
 
Tiso said:
Because we already discussed you were wrong about it. There is no priority this or that when you declare your attack. When you declare your attack, your opponent has the opportunity to respond to it if they have something face-down they can use or whatever. If they do not, you can then activate your Enemy Controller. I could have sworn we been through this.
Ok, since nobody has taken the time to correct you, and you've said this same statement two or three times already, then I will.

The Turn Player retains Priority to respond to just about everything 1st. So, yes, when the Turn Player declares an attack, they have the right to respond to that attack declaration 1st, then the opponent can respond. If the Turn Player decides not to respond, he passes to the opponent, who can then either choose to respond, or not. If the opponent responds by activating a card, then the Turn Player can respond to that activation with an Appropriate card/effect, and so on and so forth.

Priority is NOT just limited to who gets to respond to a Summon.
 
Correct on that one. =)

Here's another situation but this time I'll add in a couple more elements to it. >=)

P1: Attacks P2's Spirit Reaper with Gemini Elf.
P2: Responds with Enemy Controller.
P1: Chains Magic Drain.

Chain Block ends, Enemy Controller is negated.

P2: Activates Enemy Controller for his/her second response to switch Gemini Elf to defense.
P1: Chains his/her own Enemy Controller to P2's Enemy Controller tributing Gemini Elf to target and take control of Spirit Reaper.

Chain Block ends, and both monsters are removed from the field.

That's another legal situation.

P2: Has a Gemini Elf and Cyber Dragon on the field.
P1: Attacks Gemini Elf with Archfiend Soldier.
P2: Responds with Dark Spirit of the Silent and forces a Sheep Token to attack instead.
P1: Chains with Trap Jammer.

Chain Block ends. Trap Jammer negates Dark Spirit of the Silent.

P2: Responds with Wall of Revealing Light.
P1: Chains Mystical Space Typhoon.

Chain Block ends, Wall of Revealing Light is destroyed by Mystical Space Typhoon.

P2: Responds once more with Book of Moon to turn Archfiend Soldier face down.
P1: Chains Ojama Trio.

Chain Block ends, a replay is issued due to the number of monsters changed on the defending field.

=) <coughs slightly>
 
Tkwiget, Im a bit lost. I see the chains going on, and it would appear that since each block started with a response to the attack declaration that there is no issue.

What are you getting at? I feel like Im missing some hidden meaning?
 
Back
Top