Jetroid + Fire Darts/Magical Exp.

skochtape1

D D Jester
Jetroids effect

At the time this card is selected as an attack target by your opponent's monster, the controller of this card can activate Trap Card(s) from their hand.

Fire Darts effect
trap

You can only activate this card when you have no cards in your hand. Roll a six-sided die 3 times, and inflict damage to your opponent's Life Points equal to the total result of the die rolls x 100 points.

Magical Explosion

You can only activate this card when you have no cards in your hand. Inflict 200 points of damage to your opponent's Life Points for each Spell Card in your Graveyard

My question is, if Jetroid is attacked and either of these traps are the only card in your hand. Do their effects resolve correctly?
 
Having zero cards in hand is requirement for flipping it (if you were using it normally). Since you can't flip it with a card in your hand, how can you play it from your hand if you have a card in your hand? It cannot be legally activated, because it's activation conditions haven't been fulfilled.

-chaosruler
 
I'm in agreement with chaosruler on this one. I don't think you would be able to activate either of the cards in question via "Jetroid"s effect. I would have explained it the same way he has.
 
this is how Mortals (lv 2 judge) explained it on the Realms.


{Yes, you are correct. When Jetroid is attack and you have only 1 card in hand and that card being either one of those 2, then you may activate it. Once you have activated it, you would not have any cards in hand and thus would be a legal activation.

If it is the only card in hand and you activate it, the card shouldn't be in your hand at that point anymore. It should be on the field. =)}
 
This is how chaosruler (a Level 2 judge) explains it:

You can't activate period if you have a card in your hand. Can you activate Talisman of Trap Sealing if there isn't a Sealmaster Meisei on your side of the field? no. 0 cards in hand is the only way you can activate it. The very nature of how Jetroid uses Traps prohibits the use of Fire Darts/Magical Explosion in that manner.

Note, I'm joking around with the top part, but the explanation is serious.

-chaosruler
 
NEW Question

Alright, since we're on the discussion with Jetroid and traps from the hand. Purely for clarification purposes.

Say My Jetroid is being attacked. Royal Decree is already active on the field.

Royal Decree will not negate the traps from my hand then, correct?



I just mentioned the lv 2 judge thing to give some credibility, so you know its not just a Joe Schmoe Noob boob.
 
Generally Mortals knows what he's talking about, but I don't think he thought things through this time.

And as to Royal Decree--it would still negate it. Though I'm inclear as to how they have ruled Royal. I belive you cannot activate any traps, as with Jinzo. But the text would indicate they would simply be "burnt"
 
squid said:
I would think that the effect of Jetroid could not be used with Royal Decree or Jinzo out, based on the 2nd ruling I see for Jetroid. Traps wouldn't be burnt (unless Im misunderstanding your meaning there). They simply would not be activated.
Yes, I think thats it too. I'm just pointing out that I haven't read a ruling to indicate that one way or the other and that the text of Royal Decree reads like traps are just negated and not prevented. But Jinzo reads the same way, I think, so its probably the same ruling as Jinzo.
 
DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:
If Reload is the only card in your hand can you activate it?
Nope.

But Reload does require you to have one card in your hand to activate, and you do have that one card in your hand"¦

Card do look and waht will happen "as" they activate, not jsut before they activate.

Jowgen the Spiritualis and Last Warrior from another planet prevent you from activating cards that special summon monsters, but you can certainly tribute them for Metamophosis or Lava Golem: the card Metamorphosis knows that it will remove the effect preventing special summons before its activation is complete.

You should be able to activated Fire Darts etc.
I agree with DaGuy. The Jowgen rulings are rather comparable.
 
I believe that the example of being able to tribute Jowgen for Lava Golem or Metamorphosis is out of date, as these rulings no longer appears on UDE's website, or even in the pop up window that occurs when you click on their links.

Metamorphosis tributes a monster as a cost, which would occur right after the card was activated, and since Jowgen would prevent its activation, the cost for that activation can't be paid.

Lava Golem would tribue two of you opponets monsters as part of its effect (I believe), but since that effect can't be activated, the two monsters can't be tribute, and Lava Golem is forced to remain in its owner's (most likely) hand.
 
Back
Top