Jetroid + Fire Darts/Magical Exp.

skochtape1

D D Jester
Jetroids effect

At the time this card is selected as an attack target by your opponent's monster, the controller of this card can activate Trap Card(s) from their hand.

Fire Darts effect
trap

You can only activate this card when you have no cards in your hand. Roll a six-sided die 3 times, and inflict damage to your opponent's Life Points equal to the total result of the die rolls x 100 points.

Magical Explosion

You can only activate this card when you have no cards in your hand. Inflict 200 points of damage to your opponent's Life Points for each Spell Card in your Graveyard

My question is, if Jetroid is attacked and either of these traps are the only card in your hand. Do their effects resolve correctly?
 
Fire Darts effect
trap

You can only activate this card when you have no cards in your hand. Roll a six-sided die 3 times, and inflict damage to your opponent's Life Points equal to the total result of the die rolls x 100 points.

Magical Explosion

You can only activate this card when you have no cards in your hand. Inflict 200 points of damage to your opponent's Life Points for each Spell Card in your Graveyard

I've put the crucial part in bold. You can't even legally activate either one via Jetroid.

-chaosruler
 
It's text takes into consideration that it is activated from the field not the hand, since it is a trap. All Jetroid allows is for it to skip the 1 turn wait.

Wouldn't you activate and then resolve....going in reverse order?
 
If Reload is the only card in your hand can you activate it?
Nope.

But Reload does require you to have one card in your hand to activate, and you do have that one card in your hand"¦

Card do look and waht will happen "as" they activate, not jsut before they activate.

Jowgen the Spiritualis and Last Warrior from another planet prevent you from activating cards that special summon monsters, but you can certainly tribute them for Metamophosis or Lava Golem: the card Metamorphosis knows that it will remove the effect preventing special summons before its activation is complete.

You should be able to activated Fire Darts etc.
 
There is a difference between Reload and this situation.

Reload checks the hand at it's activation and resolution. If you will not have any other cards at the resolution of Reload's effect then you cannot activate Reload to begin with.

Regardless, these trap cards are looking at your hand at activation. There is an activation requirement that is not being met if either card exists in your hand.
 
you guys are correct, you cannot, because unlike the text "you can only activate this card if no OTHER card exists in your hand" this states that your hand must be blank.

you must fullfill its requirements in order to even activate it.

if you have that 1 card then you still have that 1 card and the card in your hand is telling you that you cannot activate it.

if its on the field and Jetroid gets attacked and you play a Sakuretsu Armor from your hand, then it goes to the field and becomes part of a responce that will lead to a chain of events.

they chain nothing you chain the face down Fire Darts or magical explision.

you can because at this point you have 0 card in hand.

the cards are always looking for cards in hand in order to even have an activation.

now lets says that there was a card that made your opponent draw that was speed 2.

and you activate this while you have 0 cards, they respond with a card that will let you draw 2 cards. at this point you had met the requirements and the effect of said card wont just go unresolved since all it needed was 0 cards upon activation :)

its easy, all you have to do is read the card and put your self in the situation.
 
I read this while at college today. Rather the whole thread. (Now I'm pretty much brain dead..)

I'd like to point out that not every card text can give you the correct ruling by placing yourself in that situation.

But like Reload and Monster Recovery, the actual card isn't included in the amount of cards being shuffled. Neither is Fire Darts or Magical Explosion when they're activated from Jetroid's effect.

It isn't a matter of putting yourself into the situation to gain a better understanding from a player's point of view, but rather look at past rulings first then combine it with the player's point of view.
 
thats because Reload and Monster Recovery dont have a activation requirement. you just activate it, the cards in hand go in and then you shuffle out.

the reason why you cant activate it when you have no other cards is because you wouldnt be able to full fill the effect of shuffling in cards.


Fire Darts in the other hands says you can only activate this card when you have no cards in your hand

that means 0 cards have to be in the hand before you can legaly activate the card. :)

thats why you have to put your self in the situation. the requirements have to be fullfilled before you can activate the card.

its like saying you can activate Torrential Tribute anytime.
 
I think the key question here is, does Jetroid's effect cause a new trap/spell location in your hand to activate the cards or is it a bad translation and the cards activate once they enter the spell/trap zone on the field?
So can you use Makyura/Jetroid's effect if you've a full Spell/Trap zone?

http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=2869#2869
The above link would certainly imply the activation occurs in the hand but doesn't explicitly say so, just that you do not have to set the traps beforehand.
 
skochtape1 said:
That was exactly my point. It activates and resolves on the field.

Yes, but you can't illegally activate a card from the field, now can you, it's activation conditions have to be correct, don't they? This is it is impossible to activate Fire Darts or Magical Explosion from your h and, you cannot "illegally activate" them just to put them onto thefield, then try to arguethat after activation, it counts cards in hand. That's not how it works. You cannot HAVE any other cards in hand in order to attempt to play Fire Darts or Magical Explosion. Even if the only card Magical Explosion or Fire Darts, 1 card in hand is 1 too many.

-chaosruler
 
Back
Top