Last Will errata

John Danker

Administrator
Many of you may have seen the errata on Last Will...likely giving insight as to why they're allowing only 1 in this new list.
One problem though is that they haven't updated the FAQ to reflect what the errata seems to imply. At this point I wouldn't blame a judge for ruling it either way. You'd think if they're going to make an errata ona card they'd change the FAQ to reflect the errata....assuming the errata text is actually changing the way the card can be played as the new text infers.

I guess until the FAQ is updated I'll rule it as the FAQ currently states <shrug>
 
For the time being we have to make our ruling call based on the current official rulings and game mechanics behind the card. We can't just throw everything in the wind and go by what "WE" want. That isn't how things work in the world of Yu-Gi-Oh!. =P
 
What errata are you talking about specifically? The card has always said "sent", not "destroyed". I'm also under the impression that the card plays the same as it always has, unless somebody can point me to something that says otherwise, of course. Can you guys please clarify what you're referring to?

<confused>

edit: Upon reflection and re-reading, I must assume you mean that the new text implies you can play Last Will after a monster has been sent to the Graveyard, instead of having to play it beforehand. That would be ... interesting :D

Original Text (SDY-039)
If a monster of yours is sent from the field to the Graveyard during the turn that you've played this card, you can select a monster with an ATK of 1500 points or less from your Deck and play it as a Special Summon. Shuffle the Deck after playing the card. This card is active for 1 turn only.

Updated Text (SYE-031)
You can only use this card's effect once, and only during this turn. When a monster on your side of the field is sent to your Graveyard, you can Special Summon 1 monster with an ATK of 1500 points or less from your Deck. Then shuffle your Deck.

Current Text (TP7-EN015)
If a monster on your side of the field was sent to your Graveyard this turn, you can Special Summon 1 monster with an ATK of 1500 points or less from your Deck once during this turn. Then shuffle your Deck.
 
"Was sent"? That is a markedly different way of putting it. You have to wonder, what was the point of changing the text, yet again, if they didn't modifiy the FAQ?
 
Digital Jedi said:
Yes, but the this errata doesn't make that any clearer then the previous one. It actually makes thing s worse if doesn't truly mean what it says.

Indeed. If it truly means what it says, it means that his effect also activates if a monster was sent to the graveyard during the turn BEFORE Last Will was activated.
 
That is pretty much what it does and says now given how it works in WC2006. Either way this card deserves to be restricted to 1 since it works like that.
 
Tiso said:
That is pretty much what it does and says now given how it works in WC2006. Either way this card deserves to be restricted to 1 since it works like that.

It has been said before and I will say it again: NEVER use GBA games for rulings in the real TCG.
 
Well, I was with a group of judges who happened to have the opportunity to pick the brain of Dan Schdeigger before the SJC LB came up. The topic of Last Will was brought up and he had said that you would be able to activate Last Will after a monster had been sent to the graveyard and its effect would activate right away.

We've run into issues in the past of people that have said things that never made it to official rulings, but the text does line up more. Plus the use of the phrase "was sent" also establishes the "state" that Last Will is so famous for.
 
So because they have never been able to fully explain the effect in it's entirety in the first place, they are now adding an additional effect (or expanding the effect to include a situation that was never part of the original card effect)?

Or perhaps they are going to attempt to kill off the original "creates a state" situation and restrict the activation of the card to only working "after" a monster has been sent to the graveyard and thus they won't have to deal with all the earlier sticky possibilities that they could never get explained.

Monkey Cannons! Get the Monkey Cannons! Where is Jason when we need him to load the Cannons?
 
anthonyj said:
Or perhaps they are going to attempt to kill off the original "creates a state" situation and restrict the activation of the card to only working "after" a monster has been sent to the graveyard and thus they won't have to deal with all the earlier sticky possibilities that they could never get explained.

It was before i got into yugioh. But i'm pretty sure that the "original" ruling was that it could be activated before or after the monster was sent to the graveyard.

But if you look at Return of the Doomed you'll see that the activating it Last Will after a monster was destroyed won't necessarily remove the "creates a state" condition.

So only ruling number 2 looks questionable, as well as the "special cards" ruling under Last Turn. The otehrs can very well remain true.
 
Dillie-O said:
Well, I was with a group of judges who happened to have the opportunity to pick the brain of Dan Schdeigger before the SJC LB came up. The topic of Last Will was brought up and he had said that you would be able to activate Last Will after a monster had been sent to the graveyard and its effect would activate right away.

Too bad as usual neither Dan nor Kevin can take the time to align the rulings with what comes out of their mouths. Yeah, I know ... "must be approved by Konami". It's been almost 4 months since the change in text was PUBLIC, which means they've likely had 6 or more months to take care of it. Disgusting.
 
Tiso said:
Because Konami got it in their head to change destroy to just "sent from field to the Graveyard" like Sangan or Witch of the Black Forest. Fantastic, no wonder it was restricted to 1 in Japan a month ago. Maybe their is hope that Konami will errata Mystical Moon since it seems like they want to change everything about the game as they go now.

What's the errata on Mystical Moon? I think it's text is straight up plain and simple.
 
Back
Top