thousand eyes restrict

woltarr

New Member
if TER is place face down by book of moon

and them oponent declares a atack agaisnt him

since damage calculation occurs in damage step3

since continuous effcts occurs in damage step 2

may i assume that TER effct would start work and , as such would halt the atck?

thank you very much

woltarr
 
As long as we're on the subject of TER though....some food for thought <devious smile>

If I activate TER's effect and you chain Book of Moon and target TER, we know that it's effect fails to resolve.....but....why?

When you think about this think about what happens if I activate Change of Heart and then you chain Ojama Trio filling my monster zones.....or if I activate Change of Heart and then chain Scapegoat filling my monster zones.....what happens to the monster Change of Heart targeted?

If I tribute summon Mobius the Frost Monarch and you activate Bottomless Trap Hole does Mobius's effect still activate?

Is it possible that there is a flaw in the TER ruling if it's turned face down after activation?

Why is there air? Could the sun not be a blazing star but instead a hole in the universe that's a portal to another universe? How do we know? Has anyone ever been to the sun? What's the purpose of that little thing that hangs down from the back of your throat?
 
Would you like to visit the sun, John. I can arrange it. :mad: <sigh> You know better then to mess with us before we've all had our mourning coffee.

Because Thousand-Eyes Restrict effect of Equiping a Monster t itself is a Continuous effect with a Ingnition-y activation. If it's not face-up it can't complete the effect that would do the transforming. Because that portion of the effect is Continuous-y. Now where's my coffee and donught? I said I wanted sprinkles! Do these look like spinkles to you!? Security!
 
I'm not so sure of that, sir. Perhaps it would be better to say: Because TER is an old card, and therefore it's effect does not have to be of a specific type.
-pssvr
 
Okay, okay, let's clear the air on a few things, here. Jedi's explanation must've gotten f***ed up, or something.

1. Why does TER's effect fail to resolve after being flipped f/d? Simple: TER's effect equips the monster to TER and you can't equip anything to a f/d monster.

2. What happens to the monster targeted by your Change of Heart after another card fills your monster zone?
Nothing. The effect of Change of Heart 'fizzles.'

3. If a tributed Mobius gets hit by Bottomless Trap Hole, does Mobius's effect activate?
Yes, because the trigger for Mobius's effect is a SUCCESSFUL Tribute Summon. The summon can only be unsuccessful if negated by Horn of Heaven, Solemn Judgment, or Royal Oppression. Plus, destroying a card with a triggered effect in the middle of a chain doesn't negate the card's effect.

As for the other questions (flaw in TER's ruling excluded)-- I'm not a philosophy expert so debate that with someone else.
 
He probably posted that to annoy us, to make us think too much in the morning (that's why Jedi was pissed), or for some other deviant purpose. I decided to play along because I had nothing else to do. But, I'd just ignore him, for now.
 
CardsOfTheHeart said:
1. Why does TER's effect fail to resolve after being flipped f/d? Simple: TER's effect equips the monster to TER and you can't equip anything to a f/d monster
Yes, but what what John is suggesting is that, based on other Ignition effects, TER's should resolve transfering the monster into as Equip Spell Card as it would already be added to the chain. Then the monster would just be dstroyed or whathaveyou. But if the effect is Continuous, even though it is Ignition, then it would still be require to be face-up for resolution.
 
I don't think that is what JD was saying. John was (I believe) trying to present the possibility that the targeted monster might be destroyed by a game mechanic.
-pssvr
<EDIT: MUST... TYPE... FASTER!>
 
And I wasn't pissed. You'll notice my rant about sprinkles at the end. John just likes to make us think hard about rulings, as any Level 3 should, and question why things work the way they do. This is what makes this forum unique. We invite discussion.
 
What the--?

Have you had your coffee yet, Jedi?

Chain:
Thousand-Eyes Restrict -> Book of Moon

In JD's scenario, Book of Moon is CHAINED to TER's Ignition Effect. With nothing else in the chain, Book of Moon resolves first, flips TER f/d, and TER's effect 'fizzles' since you can't equip anything to a f/d monster.

*Note to self: TYPE FASTER!!!!!
Yes, and if you chain Book of Moon to Tribe-Infecting Virus' Ignition Effect, what happens? Bokk of Moon resolves first, flipping Tribe face-down, and then Tribe's effect resolves destroying all moinsters of the declared type on the field. John is asking us to think about that for a moment. What prevents Thousand-Eyes Restrict's effect from transforming the monster into an Equip Spell Card after Book of Moon resolves. Of course it wouldn't be equipped. But targeted monster would be destroyed in that case.
 
Unless "TER"s effect is one that REQUIRES the monster to remain face-up at resolution. If it's not face-up, it's effect simply Disappears. (I'm stating that as fact. I'm simply throwing that out there.)
 
i will have to disagree

in the damage step chart of kevin he clearly states that monster with continuous effcts face down and flipped face up by a atck would have this continuous effct start working in damage step 2

since damage calculation occurs in damage step 3

the atck would halt by TEr efct before enter in damage step 3

since damage was not calculated , TER will survive

and in the soul absorbing bone tower there is not mention to these , just to mention

i dont believe you guys cant see this

woltarr
 
woltarr said:
i will have to disagree

in the damage step chart of kevin he clearly states that monster with continuous effcts face down and flipped face up by a atck would have this continuous effct start working in damage step 2

since damage calculation occurs in damage step 3

the atck would halt by TEr efct before enter in damage step 3

since damage was not calculated , TER will survive

and in the soul absorbing bone tower there is not mention to these , just to mention

i dont believe you guys cant see this

woltarr
Once the damage step is reached, replays can no longer occur, and the attack must go through.
-pssvr
 
*hits himself with a huge mallet
drugged.gif

I just looked at the Ojama Trio ruling concerning Snatch Steal. My bad.

As for the Thousand-Eyes Restrict/Book of Moon ruling, look at this message from the Judge's list:

http://lists.upperdeck.com/read/messages?id=3648#3648

I'm surprised this message hasn't come up in the discussion. But since the message was posted back in February, I can forgive you all for neglecting to mention it.
 
Back
Top