kingpinopie
Himoura Shinta
Ok... Royal Oppression...  can it negate ANY special summon?? BLS.. Nimbles... etc??  and do you have to pay 800 each time you negate ??
				
			DaGuyWitBluGlasses said:In actuality, Vampire Lord Does need to be on the field to be destroyed (well not specifically the field read on: )
Also, if this card is destroyed and sent to the Graveyard by your opponent's card effect, it is Special Summoned to the field during your next Standby Phase.
John Danker said:I don't think I understand what you're getting at here. Vampire Lord doesn't have to be on the field when destroyed by an opponent's card effect to qualify to be special summoned by it's own effect from the graveyard. If it's summon is negated by Horn of Heaven then it never made it to the field, yet, Horn of Heaven destroys it and Vampire Lord's effect activates from the graveyard on the following standby phase....but...you knew that already.
I think this is just a case where I don't understand exactly what you're wording is getting at.
Raijinili said:About Royal Oppression in the Damage Step: The JERP says that Royal Oppression can't be activated in the Damage Step. Updated 2004/7/7 and 2005/1/24.
About Royal Oppression VS Vampire Lord/Nephthys:
Royal Oppression has two opportunities to negate these two cards. One when the effect is activated (in a chain, such as with Divine Wrath) and one when the effect resolves (such as with Horn of Heaven). The Vampire Lord and Royal Oppression ruling is for the second case, while the Nephthys ruling is for the first case.
Since they don't need to be on the field when destroyed, they can just special summon themselves again for the first place.
I could say, "Honestly, I don't see how this is so hard," but then I'd be lying. But from the beginning, we've been told that it's only monsters special summoned from outside effects that couldn't be negated by Horn of Heaven.
I hear you brother, i don't like it anymore than you do...anthonyj said:But that would make it another BKSS (or Because Kevin or Konami said so) since it is not a Counter Trap and doesn't directly affect ATK or DEF it should not be able to be activated in the damage step. I'm very concerned about the rulings that have been coming out recently with Peten, Exiled Force, End of Anubis, etc. It doesn't even appear that we are mirroring JERP rulings anymore, we seem to be getting some strange new directions from how Kevin says it works with lack of regard for what has come before and not even a "we've been doing it wrong all this time" type response.
I have to say thank god I've been so buried at work I haven't had more than 10 seconds to try to catch up here and there. Reading through a lot of these posts I'm sure the best of us are pretty much going insane trying to keep up with what in the world is happening to this game.
Raijinili said:Case 1: Negate the effect.
Case 2: Negate the special summon.
For the second case, the card's summon is negated, then the card is destroyed. Have you ever wondered what would happen if a monster's summon was negated but it wasn't destroyed? I have. It's creepy... a card on the monster zone with no monster associated with it... *shudders*
Well, John, does that explain how they're destroyed if their special summons are negated? *shudders*
Raijinili said:It's destroyed after it is placed on the field. If it wasn't... you'd have a shell of a monster. Because the card wasn't destroyed, but it wasn't special-summoned either.
Raijinili said:So you say that when I summon a monster from my hand, and you negate the summon, it never hits the field? Then it would be in the hand, would it not?
Raijinili said:Okay, what's the difference between negating a summon from the hand, and negating a special summon from the graveyard? Both cards hit the field, but the monsters themselves aren't existing on the field. If you can't visualize this, you should learn the Trap-Monster rulings.
And how come you don't have messengers?
No, the Divine Wrath ruling does not prove this. The Divine Wrath ruling was ruled for the specific case where the EFFECT of the special summon was negated. Negating the effect and negating the special summon... darn, lost my words. Well, they're two different things.StRiKe_NiNjA said:This is because the monster never makes it to the field at all... take Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys for a moment, that gets placed onto a chain when it's effect activates in the graveyard...
The Divine Wrath ruling proves this.
The main difference is that one is a non-chained action (declaration) and the other is a chainable effect activation.
Thats the difference.
There is a BIG difference between the 2 in terms of how they function.
Raijinili said:Here's an example. You have two Royal Oppression on the field. Your opponent activates Vampire Lord's effect. You chain the effect of one Royal Oppression to it. He chains Mystical Space Typhoon to destroy that Royal Oppression. Since you have another Royal Oppression, and since it can't negate the effect without chaining directly onto the effect (counter-trap rulings), you have to wait until VLord's effect is resolving. Then you activate the second effect, to negate the special summon itself (this is not chaining).