kingpinopie
Himoura Shinta
Ok... Royal Oppression...  can it negate ANY special summon?? BLS.. Nimbles... etc??  and do you have to pay 800 each time you negate ??
				
			See what above? You do realize that what are saying doesn't make any sense, right? Frankly, i'm a little surprised to see you say this...No, the Divine Wrath ruling does not prove this. The Divine Wrath ruling was ruled for the specific case where the EFFECT of the special summon was negated. Negating the effect and negating the special summon... darn, lost my words. Well, they're two different things.
Here's an example. You have two Royal Oppression on the field. Your opponent activates Vampire Lord's effect. You chain the effect of one Royal Oppression to it. He chains Mystical Space Typhoon to destroy that Royal Oppression. Since you have another Royal Oppression, and since it can't negate the effect without chaining directly onto the effect (counter-trap rulings), you have to wait until VLord's effect is resolving. Then you activate the second effect, to negate the special summon itself (this is not chaining).
Negating from the hand means the card still needs a reason to go to the Graveyard (hence destroying it), negating from the Graveyard, you can't destroy something which has already been destroyed.Raijinili said:Okay, what's the difference between negating a summon from the hand, and negating a special summon from the graveyard? Both cards hit the field, but the monsters themselves aren't existing on the field. If you can't visualize this, you should learn the Trap-Monster rulings.
And how come you don't have messengers?
You are assuming that summoning is that simple. Apparently, Konami decided it was not. And you say that you can't use Horn of Heaven or Solemn Judgement on Vampire Lord. We've had this argument before. If I remember correctly, you conceded that Konami allowed them to negate special-summons by effects such as Nephthys' or VLord's, but you believed they were wrong. I am trying to make sense of their game while you're trying to make a game with your logic.V-Lord's effect would fully resolve (Special Summoning him successfully) before any response could be made, so you could not use Horn/SJ/RO, thats how chaining and effect resolution works.
No, the Divine Wrath ruling does not prove this. The Divine Wrath ruling was ruled for the specific case where the EFFECT of the special summon was negated. Negating the effect and negating the special summon... darn, lost my words. Well, they're two different things.
The last part is NOT chaining because there was no effect to chain to. Royal Oppression would start a new chain.How is the last part not "chaining"? Royal Oppression has a manually activated effect that you choose to activate, it will always go on a chain.
If this case were true, which it isn't, this would fall for Horn of Heaven as well.
Konami NEVER NEVER NEVER said that effects going on the chain block were preventing the special summon from being negated. Konami ALWAYS said that Horn of Heaven could not negate special summons made by OUTSIDE effects. ALWAYS. Not ONCE did they say that you couldn't negate a special summon because a card was resolving. I'll delete my account and leave if you can prove they did, even once.Your "2nd" Royal Oppression would not be able to negate "Special Summon" of Vampire Lord, as it was Special Summoned by an "effect" that has already "resolved". You don't "cut" out the fact that it was Special Summoned by an "effect" especially one that had already resolved.
Follow Horn of Heaven for example, as it is a Counter-Trap card. If Kuriboh were to be Special Summoned by Monster Reborn, and the Special Summon occurs, Horn of Heaven would not be able to negate it (Counter-Trap ruling), this would fall for Royal Oppression as well.
Raijinili said:That is because Monster Reborn is special summoning Kuriboh, not Kuriboh. Once again, outside effect.
As I said, one is an outside effect.StRiKe_NiNjA said:Tell me, what's the difference between Vampire Lord's recursion effect when it activates and when a Player activates Monster Reborn on a Kuriboh?
It's like you totally ignored my argument and went straight to my thesis.They have similar properties, both the Special Summon of Vampire Lord and also Kuriboh in the example were brought out by "effects". Horn of Heaven cannot negate the Special Summon of these 2 examples.
As I said, Konami has ALWAYS said that the reason was otherwise.This is why you can't Horn of Heaven, Solemn Judgment,... etc. against the effect of Vampire Lord when it Special Summons itself from the graveyard. This also falls for Royal Oppression, whcih requires the same timing as Horn of Heaven.
I am not stupid. I easily know more than twice the rulings you do. Thank you.With that said, your 2nd Royal Oppression would not begin a new chain as it cannot be activated in the first place. Vampire Lord is Special Summon by it's effect when it "resolved". Review the bolded
And I will refresh my assessment of you, in my mind. It's always good to make a new opinion.I'm going to say this as proffesional as I can, to the best of knowledge, to only what I know. If I'm wrong, tough, it isn't good for me anyways.
True. I can bring up statements by official sources where they say that it's because every one of those effects are special summoning the monster, and the monster is not special summoning itself. And every one of those cards are magic/trap cards, and not special summoning themselves.But if you wait and allow these cards to resolve and Special Summon the monster "Solemn Judgment" will no longer be able to negate the Summon.
And that is the pivotal point. You and novastar assume that summons by effect are that simple. I try to fit in the Royal Oppression/Vampire Lord ruling in my understanding, and justify that with the explanation given every time people asked why you couldn't use Horn of Heaven on Monster Reborn.If the Special Summon of Vampire Lord is resolved, you have missed the timing, and this monster considered to be successfully summoned.
Raijinili said:◇この「フュージョン・ゲート」の効果による融合召喚にチェーンはできません。
"It is not possible to chain to a special summon by Fusion Gate."
This shows that there is no activation and resolution, (sic)
「神の宣告」「王宮の弾圧」で特殊召喚を無効にする事はできません。
"It is not possible for God's Declaration (Solemn Judgement) or Oppression of the Court (Royal Oppression, or Imperial Oppression) to negate a special summon by Fusion Gate."
And I KNOW that Curtis just said Fusion Gate was "ignition-like". As I emailed to him, WWE doesn't play that way. As I also said, I know the games are not a good source, but it takes a lot of effort to make a mistake like that. No response yet. Which means he's reconsidering?
Raijinili said:And in a burst of inspiration, I went looking for a ruling to prove the "outside effect" reason. Under Fusion Gate, on the JERP:
http://home.att.ne.jp/moon/puppiy/rule/spell/s5/Field_19.htm
◇この「フュージョン・ゲート」の効果による融合召喚にチェーンはできません。
"It is not possible to chain to a special summon by Fusion Gate."
This shows that there is no activation and resolution, unlike Vampire Lord's effect.
「神の宣告」「王宮の弾圧」で特殊召喚を無効にする事はできません。
"It is not possible for God's Declaration (Solemn Judgement) or Oppression of the Court (Royal Oppression, or Imperial Oppression) to negate a special summon by Fusion Gate."
And I KNOW that Curtis just said Fusion Gate was "ignition-like". As I emailed to him, WWE doesn't play that way. As I also said, I know the games are not a good source, but it takes a lot of effort to make a mistake like that. No response yet. Which means he's reconsidering?
Honestly Rai i'm not just using my logic, my thoughts are based on a lot of rulings.You are assuming that summoning is that simple. Apparently, Konami decided it was not. And you say that you can't use Horn of Heaven or Solemn Judgement on Vampire Lord. We've had this argument before. If I remember correctly, you conceded that Konami allowed them to negate special-summons by effects such as Nephthys' or VLord's, but you believed they were wrong. I am trying to make sense of their game while you're trying to make a game with your logic.
novastar said:The summon occurs during the resolution of the effect (the chain link), so you should not be able to interupt that with a Counter Trap. The effect would fully resolve before a response could be made. There is a lot of precendent to support this, it is not just some assumption.
StRiKe_NiNjA said:If the Special Summon of Vampire Lord is resolved, you have missed the timing, and this monster considered to be successfully summoned. This should be true for Horn of Heaven. Even if Vampire Lord does have a "built-in" Special Summon effect, what does that have to do with anything right? Simple mechanics should prove to you that it's not possible to negate chainable effects with Horn of Heaven.
As a basic rule, you cannot simply activate a Counter-Trap that would cut in during the resolution of an effect. So Horn of Heaven can't mechanically negate the Special Summon of Vampire Lord this way.
Actually there is a Horn ruling that states that it cannot (see other thread).There's is no ruling that contradicts Solemn Judgment, Horn of Heaven, etc. that it can negate a Special Summon by a monster achieved by it's own effect like Vampire Lord. Not talking about those cards like Archlord Zerato or as such.
novastar said:I was in Vancouver for a bit visiting friends.
Digital Jedi said:You cannot use "Horn of Heaven" to negate the Special Summon of "Vampire Lord" or "Sacred Phoenix of Nephthys" when they are Special Summoned by their effects.