Weird call of the tournament

John Danker

Administrator
I just thought I'd start posting the weirdest rulings call I'm asked to make each tournament for fun.

Des Moines Regional last Sat.

Player 1 special summons Thousand Eyes Restrict and absorbs Player 2's face down monster, ends turn.

Player 2 draws and sets a monsters, ends turn.

Player 1 draws and in main phase 1 activates Nobleman of Extermination on the face down eqip. to his own Thousand Eyes Restrict.

If you want me to tell you how I ruled it I'd be happy to but it's not the intention of this thread. What I want to do is present scenarios to you to rule, on the spot, without looking them up.

It never fails, you always seem to run into at least one scenario you haven't seen before no matter how long you've been judging!
 
Nobleman of Extermination can remove a monster equipped to Thousand-Eyes Restrict if the actual card is face-down. It's in the Spell/Trap cards zone, and it's face-down so it's legal for activation.

What I don't get is how Thousand-Eyes Restrict can in the FIRST place take a face-down monster card, then treat it as an Equip Spell card while the "actual monster card" is face-down. You see what I mean? That's just the way it is.
 
okay i kinda think i get why you said that. But no one is questioning whether or not the monster is a spell/trap card there discussing whether it is a face up card or a face down one. So your comment didnt help any one get a more definite awnser to the question
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
I missed this? lol

Nobleman of Extermination can be activated on to the Equip Spell card currently equipped to Thousand-Eyes Restrict, if the monster equipped is face-down.

The same thing would be for Magical Hats and Comulsory Evacuation Device. In reality it isn't a monster, but you still send one of the 2 non-monsters cards being treated as monster with Compulsory Evacuation Device, placing Pot of Greed in your hand.

Make sense?
Yes, it does, but unfortunately, it doesn't go with what we're debating here...:rolleyes:

Everybody (for the most part) agrees when the monster is equipped to TER/REL it becomes an Equip Spell Card. A face-up monster gives TER/REL the ATK/DEF of said monster and is treated as a face-up Equip Spell card. No questions about that. A face-down monster gives TER/REL an ATK/DEF of 0/0. No questions about that either.

Everybody (for the most part) agrees you CANNOT equip a monster with a face-down Equip Spell card. It's a near impossible game mechanic.

Now, with that being said, what we're debating on is this. IF the monster equipped to TER/REL is face-down how is it treated? Is it treated as a face-up Equip Spell card, or a face-down Equip Spell card? The second choice 'SEEMS' to be the impossible one; however, there are some rulings in the AARJ that seem to state it IS treated as such.

So we're trying to figure out WHY the rulings point in that direction.
One answer given 'SEEMS' to point to it being the effect of TER/REL that's creating a "state" that allows the seemingly impossible face-down Equip Spell card scenario.
Another answer being posed is that no matter how the monster is equipped to TER/REL it is ALWAYS considered a face-up Equip Spell card, but this contradicts the AARJ rulings.

We seem to be at an impass.

I have posted the question to the Judge's List and eagerly await an answer.
 
StRiKe_NiNjA said:
Nobleman of Extermination can remove a monster equipped to Thousand-Eyes Restrict if the actual card is face-down. It's in the Spell/Trap cards zone, and it's face-down so it's legal for activation.

What I don't get is how Thousand-Eyes Restrict can in the FIRST place take a face-down monster card, then treat it as an Equip Spell card while the "actual monster card" is face-down. You see what I mean? That's just the way it is.

I've already answered that part.
 
lol... man this is just one of those threads, arent they? Yu-Gi-Oh! never seems to cool down on hot topics.

Didn't you already get an offical answer from ARRJ or whatever?
 
Out of sight, out of mind. Out of touch with reality. Obvious logic says the card is face-down. You can see that by looking. Yet, obvious logic tells others that it being an "equip" it must be face up.

"When you have excluded the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth."

Therefore, the card is both face down, and face up.
 
It doesn't matter whether the card is face-up or face-down, its being treated as an equip spell card "regardless" if it is face-up or face-down. Since it is face-down, Nobleman of Extermination will eliminate it.

That's what I believe.
 
Maybe what it is , is a Facedown card, "ACTING" like a face up equip spell !!!.. in that case.... hahaha acting... hahah.. ok.. in that cast.. how can it be targeted by N.o.E. in the first place??? sure its face down and in a s/t card zone spot, but it IS "Acting" (lol) like an equip spell card... hmm .. i thought equip spells were only equipped face up....... so what it is the is a face up equip that is "acting" like a face down Monster.... .. which brings out a point from someone earlier... can you N.O.Crossout a face down card that is brought out by Magical Hats??? hmmmm... Maybe i will try this.... I am going to snatch steal a monster from my opponent, but put the snatch steal face down to see if it works, or better yet, I will equip United We Stand to a monster, but put it face down, and just say it is equipped... then i will say it is"Acting" like a faceup Equip Spell... ok.. this has been beaten to death.... Konami says so... but i still want a legit explanation on why it is that way... .. cuz you people are hilarious... BUT... this is a good debate.... JOHN .. NICE RULING BUD...
 
the legit reason for why you can't use nobleman of extermination on it is that an equip spell can only be equipped while face up on the field. The legit reason why you could use nobleman of extermination is that it says so in the ARRJ thing.
 
How can Thousand-Eyes Restrict have a face-down monster card equipped to it, then it gets treated as an Equip Spell card? and how does it get the results of 0/ATK 0/DEF when taking on a face-down monster card?

The effect where Thousand-Eyes Restrict treats it as a Equip Spell card is only to keep the card equipped to it, the effect allows it to do that, and remain equipped to it, that's the only reason why it can take control of face-down monsters like that. And the reason why the results come out to be 0/ATK 0/DEF is because the equipped monster card is face-down, so you can't check for the ATK/DEF value of the Equipped monster. It's the result of it being face-down.

Nobleman of Extermination will eliminate it!! Muahahah
 
ilikepiesodie said:
the legit reason for why you can't use nobleman of extermination on it is that an equip spell can only be equipped while face up on the field. The legit reason why you could use nobleman of extermination is that it says so in the ARRJ thing.

Ya, but its contradicting ya know.... so i think that is what has fueled this thing ..... but ya...... Logic says one thing, and the Higher Ups say another.... sux, but i guess thats just the way it is...
 
To make more sense.

Thousand-Eyes Restrict has an equipped monster card to it. It is face-down, but it is still being "treated" as an Equip Spell card nonetheless. Thousand-Eyes Restrict even says if the card was ataken face-down, it results with the 0 ATK/DEF. Being an Equip Spell card has no impact whether it is face-up, or face-down because it is being "treated" as one.

Nobleman of Extermination will remove it.
 
Back
Top